PDA

View Full Version : flaky SBC WiFi



kda
2008-03-08, 13:21
I've had the SBC (controller) up all morning and the WiFi is very flaky.
I can have a connection (2-3 bars) one second and the next it is blue. It is very annoying, and makes it nearly unusable.
Is there anything I can do to make it more consistent?

I've got the recent firmware (7.0 r2090).
My router is a WRT54G which all my other wireless devices
love without drops in the same area (I've tried turning them
off).
It seems to be particularly annoying when I try to browse my
music. I will request to dig into a folder or artist and I
get a spinning arrow for far too long (longer than I would
wait in a browser looking at the same local squeezecenter).

polocruz
2008-03-08, 13:50
...When it finally connects to a player (SB3 or receiver), I only get a limited set of options from the player "home page."
Now Playing
Extras
Settings
Choose player

Not listed:
Music Library
Internet radio
Music Services
Favorites

Am I missing something? I've had (2) SB3's connected wirelessly for almost 2-years.

I can control the SB3/receiver from the WEB interface without any problems.

JimC
2008-03-08, 16:15
I've had the SBC (controller) up all morning and the WiFi is very flaky.
I can have a connection (2-3 bars) one second and the next it is blue. It is very annoying, and makes it nearly unusable.
Is there anything I can do to make it more consistent?

I've got the recent firmware (7.0 r2090).
My router is a WRT54G which all my other wireless devices
love without drops in the same area (I've tried turning them
off).
It seems to be particularly annoying when I try to browse my
music. I will request to dig into a folder or artist and I
get a spinning arrow for far too long (longer than I would
wait in a browser looking at the same local squeezecenter).

Blue means that the SBC is connected to the network just fine, but cannot find its music source. I'd check the connection between your computer (the one running SC7) and the network to make sure that it is maintaining a good connection.

I had a router from 2wire that had a bug in the firmware that kept dropping the connection with the Linksys wireless PC card in the old notebook I was using as my server. Bugged the heck out of me, so I wired it to the network and now all is well.


-=> Jim

kda
2008-03-08, 17:17
Blue means that the SBC is connected to
the network just fine, but cannot find its music source.


Oh, this is good to know. (to me: RTFM)



I'd check the connection between your computer (the one
running SC7) and the network to make sure that it is
maintaining a good connection.


As it streams happily and continually to the all 4
squeezeboxes that I have on my network. Even different
streams to different SBs. The connection to the fedora box
running SqueezeCenter is wired.

rdb001
2008-04-08, 22:44
I have the same issue. I don't get any music listings. Merely now playing. Does anyone know how to resolve this issue?

Kim.T
2008-04-08, 22:50
Try to upgrade the FW of teh SBC to a newer version. A lot of issues have been solved but there are still a few....

rdb001
2008-04-08, 23:25
I am also unable to do that. I get the following error: "There was a problem upgrading this remote. Please try again, or contact support."

MrSinatra
2008-04-08, 23:32
at the moment, the jive bin appears to not be there:

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/trunk/

however, DL the latest SC7 and maybe it will be in that, (i'm not sure).

my ver is r2171 but i hear a new one should be out maybe even tonight.

rdb001
2008-04-08, 23:39
I have version r1425. Ancient. I take it from your post that the update is not currently available online. I will try again tomorrow. Thanks very much.

Kim.T
2008-04-08, 23:39
I am also unable to do that. I get the following error: "There was a problem upgrading this remote. Please try again, or contact support."
Copy the file to a SD card and put it into the Controller (remember that the filename must be jive.bin - not jive_7.0.1_rxxxx.bin)
You can find it here : http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/SqueezeCenter_trunk_v2008-04-07/ or wait4-5 hours for the next version.

MrSinatra
2008-04-08, 23:43
I have version r1425. Ancient. I take it from your post that the update is not currently available online. I will try again tomorrow. Thanks very much.

np. however, if the jive bin is included in SC7 latest nightly, like i said, it might work that way.

i think jive can get its updates via slims website, a SD card, or via a LAN if SC7 has a newer version, but i am not sure that third way is true. (a fourth way would be SN but i have no idea on that)

rdb001
2008-04-09, 22:46
That worked! Many thanks.