PDA

View Full Version : Duet can't connect to SB



mowensmd
2008-03-06, 20:13
New duet. Finds WiFi router (Linksys WRT54GX2), enter correct WEP Key (tried all 4), good signal strength on remote. Red flashing light on SB, setup SB. "Connecting to LINKSYS", Error: Can't connect your SB to your WIFI netork. (lost network). Network is fine on both tablet PC's running Win XP in the apt. No firewall (shut off zone alarms after the first few failures) Reset modem and router, reset SB to rapid red flashes, started over with same problems.

WiFi network has not had a problem adding other PC's (5 in the house intermittently) and has been stable for over 1 year. DHCP is on, MAC filter is disabled.

SB is seen when viewing wireless networks!

Can't think of anything else to try...?

Skunk
2008-03-06, 21:45
I would try WPA encryption for the sake of security, if not troubleshooting.

It looks like you tried most of the suggestions from the manual though, short of updating the router firmware:

Squeezebox Duet fails to connect to my wireless network.

• Check your wireless encryption key. If the key is entered incorrectly,
Squeezebox Duet will not connect to your wireless network.

• Check the router’s network name (also known • wn as SSID) you’re
connecting to. If it’s a default name, like NETGEAR or LINKSYS,
consider changing your network’s name to something unique to
be sure you’re not inadvertently connecting to a nearby wireless
network with the same name.

• Check your distance to the wireless router. Move Squeezebox Duet
closer to the wireless router and try connecting again.

• Check the router itself. Try power cycling the router, wait about
a minute or so and try connecting again. Also, try updating the
software on your router.

• Make sure MAC filtering is either OFF in your router, or that you
provide the correct MAC addresses for both Squeezebox Controller
and Receiver to your router.

http://www.slimdevices.com/documentation/WEB_Duet_User_Guide_EN.pdf p.34

seanadams
2008-03-06, 21:57
+1 upgrade router firmware
Also sometimes just power cycling the router helps

I am guessing it might be an older model if you're using WEP?

mowensmd
2008-03-07, 10:43
updted firmware, have reset everything, power cycled router.

Interestingly, changed WEP to WPA. WPA is having grave difficulty maintaining a connection. Tablet loses WiFi connection and takes forever to reconnect. I'm not tech savvy enough to know why this would be the case with WPA vs. WEP.

Only difference, I have been able to connect to the WiFi network now, and find the SB. But it still can't connect the SB to the WiFi.

Also, on squeezecenter 7.0, network mapped folder is setup and works but all genre tags are not being recognized (only 2 of 12 genres...all others listed as "no genre". Slimserver version 6.05 had recognized all my existing ID3's fine, and showed all by genre as expected....

I've now connected the SB to ethernet...we'll see if it can just connect straight away...

mowensmd
2008-03-08, 09:42
Finally got it to get through the entire setup menu by turning off all wireless security and firewalls, and selecting a different channel instead of AUTO.

It found my music source and would play songs...but the songs kept cutting out...when the SBC would freeze... (so not a RCA cable issue). I updated the software from the settings menu, since I could finally get to it, but no difference.

Seems like communication between the SBC SBR and my wifi is spotty. But how to know which of the 3 devices is failing? My Wifi has been having grave difficulty keeping a signal (it is a strong signal when present...but just loses the connection on the tablet over and over). Having no security (WEP or WPA/WPA2) is the only thing that seems to keep the wifi from losing a connection...

mowensmd
2008-03-08, 23:45
Guess the community can't help much. Good luck Slim, you have a great form factor here but the connectivity is in the dumpster. Maybe the wifi here (congested condo area) is the issue, but it doesn't affect any of 3 other laptops/tablets.

I've gotten connection to my music, unreliably (couldn't play one song) at total of one time. I must have changed firewall, network settings, security, factory resets, power cycled and otherwise futzed until I'm truly blue in the face.

Netremote had better connectivity frankly. Maybe I don't understand the intricacies of WiFi enough, but if this is what it takes I don't have the time too...

Looks like a proprietary WiFi (sonos) is worth it for functionality, even if congesting the airwaves a bit more.

Last, before I leave my soapbox...for those who state Slim is cheaper...compare apples to apples. For powered sound in more than 3 zones, you'll be shelling out quite a bit in amplification and speakers either way. Ditch the powered zone players by Sonos or powered speakers for Slim (who wants to figure out how to bury the AC cables/speaker cables anyhow) and go with a Russound CAV and you have 6 zones with only one sonos ZP80...

Robin Bowes
2008-03-09, 08:52
mowensmd wrote:
> Guess the community can't help much. Good luck Slim, you have a great
> form factor here but the connectivity is in the dumpster. Maybe the
> wifi here (congested condo area) is the issue, but it doesn't affect
> any of 3 other laptops/tablets.
>
> I've gotten connection to my music, unreliably (couldn't play one song)
> at total of one time. I must have changed firewall, network settings,
> security, factory resets, power cycled and otherwise futzed until I'm
> truly blue in the face.
>
> Netremote had better connectivity frankly. Maybe I don't understand
> the intricacies of WiFi enough, but if this is what it takes I don't
> have the time too...

Sorry you've had a bad experience, but this all works just fine for
*most* Squeezebox users.

There's obviously some issue affecting your setup - possibly even a bad
SBC/SBr.

Did you speak to support about this?

R.

dean
2008-03-09, 08:54
Please get in touch with our support team. The community (including some Logitech/Slim employees) can help here in the forums, but the support ninjas will do a much better job and will be able to help one-on-one

That said, it sounds like from your description:

1. The Controller has good signal strength and is connected well.
2. The Receiver is the one having problems (audio cutting out, etc).

How far away is the Receiver from your access point? Is it in a metal cabinet or in some other place where it would have difficulty connecting wirelessly?

It's interesting that things got better when you changed your wireless channel on your access point. I suspect that this is a basic wireless signal strength issue.

In any case, the support team can walk you through a lot of troubleshooting and probably get you up and running.

mowensmd
2008-03-09, 09:32
Receiver is 2 feet from wifi, both out in the open.

Didn't get better by selecting a channel, actually is better when on "auto". Only time it has worked to the point of seeing music colletion is when all security was off...

I have not yet enabled MAC filtering or tried a static IP. WiFi signal strength per the SBC is full bars (but I know this isn't the whole story).

I might keep the SB until we move back to our house away from so many networks (I stumble on 10 or more in the condo we're in now) this summer and try again.

Mark Lanctot
2008-03-10, 12:14
Receiver is 2 feet from wifi, both out in the open.

In that case, why not wire it?

mowensmd
2008-03-11, 11:45
reset SBR to factory (fast red blink) then went through setup but still looks for wifi??


...couldn't select wired. keeps trying to find wifi network. I read similar on another post here. Resets finally worked for some reason but hasn't for me.

MO