PDA

View Full Version : Album art not showing in Squeezecenter



parkmad
2008-03-06, 12:39
I downloaded Squeezecenter yesterday to be used with my Squeezebox2 and it's working well. The only problem I have is that the album art is not showing in the alphabetical list for albums on the main page. If I click on individual albums, then the album art will appear in the alphabetical list when I return to the album listing.

I am using FLAC files and each folder has the album art with either cover.jpg or folder.jpg for the title.

I don't see anything in the menus to change a setting. Any ideas other than clicking on all the albums?

slimkid
2008-03-06, 13:35
I downloaded Squeezecenter yesterday to be used with my Squeezebox2 and it's working well. The only problem I have is that the album art is not showing in the alphabetical list for albums on the main page. If I click on individual albums, then the album art will appear in the alphabetical list when I return to the album listing.

I am using FLAC files and each folder has the album art with either cover.jpg or folder.jpg for the title.

I don't see anything in the menus to change a setting. Any ideas other than clicking on all the albums?

down left - drop down menu on the main page

parkmad
2008-03-06, 19:58
I'm sorry. I forgot to mention that I have toggled that drop down menu from text to small artwork to large artwork and it doesn't change anything.

Fleury
2008-03-06, 20:28
Same issue on SC 7 - regardless of menu toggle, all I get is a musical note icon (or a bigger note icon). All flacs/mp3's have art stored in as folder.jpg and tagged to each tune as well. SC correctly displays the album art in the playlist pane (I like the pop-up artwork on hover...ooooh). The playlist even shows tinier album covers near each song, but nada in the album display pane on the left. Rescanned, no dice, my directory for album art is set to the same as the tunes.

parkmad
2008-03-06, 21:29
Hey Fleury,

If you click on a specific album and then go back to the album list, can you see the artwork?

slimkid
2008-03-06, 21:35
Hey Fleury,

If you click on a specific album and then go back to the album list, can you see the artwork?

Did you do a full clear and re-scan? Step further, delete cache (pointer to it is on the settings-> info page.

Fleury
2008-03-06, 22:48
Yes, complete rescan did not help. And yes, if I select an album, add it to the playlist then go back to album view, I now see the art for that album (only) - strange...

ks10
2008-03-07, 07:38
i have had exactly the same problem. due to other problems i took all plugins out of the plugin folder and killed the complete sc cache. after that i put back plugin for plugin and sc did a complete rescan. after that all the albumart was there. i don't know if killing the cache or replacing the plugins was the reason. perhaps both? i would try to kill the cache at first...

mherger
2008-03-07, 09:15
> Yes, complete rescan did not help. And yes, if I select an album, add it
> to the playlist then go back to album view, I now see the art for that
> album (only) - strange...

Please turn the log level for artwork to debug (Settings->Advanced->Logging), re-run a full scan and upload the log file.

--

Michael

Fleury
2008-03-07, 19:21
OK, did that - where is the log file located?

Fleury
2008-03-07, 19:34
Found the scanner.log - good old hidden files and folders, ya gotta love Microsoft...How do I upload it to you?

parkmad
2008-03-07, 20:22
Sorry, trying to get the right file, is it the scanner log or the server log?

mherger
2008-03-07, 22:19
> Found the scanner.log - good old hidden files and folders, ya gotta love
> Microsoft...How do I upload it to you?

There's a "Manage Attachments" button below this form...

--

Michael

mherger
2008-03-07, 22:21
> Here's mine, hopefully it's readable.

As you probably guessed: it's not ;-). Please use the button below to attach the scanner.log to your posting.

> Looks like there are some errors in there.

And it's the server.log - we'd need the scanner.log.

--

Michael

parkmad
2008-03-08, 01:28
One more try

Fleury
2008-03-08, 07:02
Scanner.log on its way. After copying the log I deleted the Artwork folder from the cache, did another complete rescan, but still no art. To further muddy the waters, I'm also using SC 7.0 on my office PC, where the exact same files and directories do show the art as advertised (looks pretty good, too...).

mherger
2008-03-08, 07:22
> One more try

Now that's real error messages:

> Can't create/write to file 'C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\#sql_914_0.MYD

Most likely your antivirus scanner (McAfee?) blocking access to that file. Have it ignore *.MY* files.

--

Michael

parkmad
2008-03-08, 10:59
Thanks, that worked for me. I wasn't able to find a way to exclude specific files, the Mcafee menu structure is horrible, but I did uninstall Mcafee and did a rescan and now the artwork is there.

Fleury
2008-03-08, 17:34
That did the trick! I found the same error message in my log, I told McAffee to ignore MYI file extension, rescanned - there's the art! I noticed that it had not been getting past the "merge artists" scan mode, so it never actually even got to album art scan or database optimize mode. It only recognized the art in the now playing/playlist pane but not in the album display pane. Curious...

From the VirusScan Console - All Processes/Detection/Exclusions/Add

Thanks!!