PDA

View Full Version : silly question: slimp3 and squeezenetwork?



herbman
2008-03-05, 07:45
Is this possible?

slimpy
2008-03-05, 08:05
No.
Squeezecenter only works with SB2, SB3, Transporter and Duet.

-s.

dean
2008-03-05, 08:24
I think that this is a typo.

SqueezeCenter (formerly SlimServer) works with all the old players, from SLIMP3 through Squeezebox 1, 2, & 3, Transporter, SoftSqueeze, Squeezebox Receiver and Squeezebox Controller.

SqueezeCenter can use SqueezeNetwork to provide access to a number of internet radio and music services on all these devices, though there are a few limitations. For example Rhapsody doesn't work with SLIMP3, SoftSqueeze and SB1.

Most of the devices can connect to SqueezeNetwork directly (without the need of SqueezeCenter running nearby). Alas, SLIMP3 and SB1 cannot.

jth
2008-03-05, 08:27
I think with the new release of Squeezecenter 7, some parts of
SqueezeNetwork are functional on SLIMP3 and SB1 players. For
instance, I can listen to Slacker radio on my SLIMP3 players,
after signing up for a Slacker account on squeezenetwork.com.

I'm not sure about the DRM protected services as I don't
subscribe to any of them.

mherger
2008-03-05, 08:29
> Squeezecenter only works with SB2, SB3, Transporter and Duet.

This is true for direct connections to SN. But technically some of the new services added on SN (Pandora, Slacker) are available on the SliMP3 through SC7. Though you might see too many dropouts to enjoy it due to its small buffer size.

--

Michael

Muggy
2008-03-05, 08:33
I think slimpy is referring to Squeezenetwork rather than Squeezecenter in the above reply.

Squeezecenter works just fine with a Slimp3. It is also possible to access Squeezenetwork features (Pandora etc.) using a Slimp3 but you must do so via Squeezecenter. Direct access to squeezenetwork from a Slimp3 is not possible.

edit: A bit slow with my reply!

herbman
2008-03-05, 08:57
I realize that SC7 works just fine, I'm using it and have been using pre-5.0 slimserver versions and on with my device. It just won't die, so I can't get a WA for the duet!

I wasn't able to find any of the 'add player' business in the sc7 menus for my slimp3 to get PINs, etc. for the SN site.

How are the SN features to be used with the slimp3?

jth
2008-03-05, 09:17
As mentioned before, you can't connect a SLIMP3 directly to
Squeezenetwork for serverless operation, but you should be
able to use some of the services on the player through the
"music services" part of the web interface or the player
menus.

slimpy
2008-03-05, 09:37
I think that this is a typo.
Sorry for the confusion.
I did mean to write SqueezeNetwork.
The whole squeeze-ifying also has its downsides ;-)

-s.