PDA

View Full Version : ethernet switch faulty



fast eddie
2008-03-01, 11:11
I am thinking that the ethernet switch in my network has gone faulty.

Instead of just having the LEDs flash to signify Tx and Rx on the ports where there are cables plugged in all the LEDs are on perminantly on all ports even without a cable plugged in!! After a reboot it works for a bit then goes back to all LEDs shining away like they are trying to light up the street.

Am I correct in thinking that the switch is knackered?

pfarrell
2008-03-01, 11:19
fast eddie wrote:
> Am I correct in thinking that the switch is knackered?

Sure sounds it to me. Since new switches start at about $25 from NewEgg,
Fryes, etc, there is not much reason not go just get a new one.


--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

funkstar
2008-03-01, 11:20
Sounds like it to me.

Oh and if Fry's and NewEgg are a little far away, how about http://www.scan.co.uk I use them all the time :)

fast eddie
2008-03-01, 11:23
Only noticed it today - was wondering why I was getting intermittent problems.

Just been checking out the prices and they are very cheap so I will defo be ordering one later.

Thanks for confirming what I suspected.

funkstar
2008-03-01, 11:27
I know people contantly slag them off, but if you are in desperate need of a switch, have a look in PCWorld. Yes yo will pay a bit more for it, but sometime it is worth it when you need things *now*.

Although being in London, there is always places like YoYoTech just off Totenham Court Road.