PDA

View Full Version : SqueezeSlave: No Sound!



AndyMc
2008-02-25, 04:04
Hi,

I have just downloaded the latest version of SqueezeSlave (0.7.5).

When I run it I get a single error, "PortAudio error: Host error." I am running Fedora 7.

What does this error mean? How can I fix it?

Also, where can I download the source code? The version I have is not compiled with any debug options. Is there an SVN repository?

Many thanks,
Andy.

bhaagensen
2008-02-25, 04:27
Hi,
When I run it I get a single error, "PortAudio error: Host error." I am running Fedora 7.

What does this error mean? How can I fix it?


It means that the sound-device is taken by another process, most likely some sound daemon. Try with the alsa oss compatibility wrapper (aoss) or kill the deamon.



Is there an SVN repository?


http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/trunk/softsqueeze/SlimProtoLib

B.

AndyMc
2008-02-25, 04:56
Using the aoss script did the trick.

Thank you very much! And thanks for replying quickly!

Andy.

KeyzerSuze
2008-03-10, 14:25
Hi

I have been trying to get this working, can't seem to play video's while i have softsqueeze running in the back ground. I have it start when the machine starts (well that was the hope), but it locks my sounds up.

I have tried
aoss java -Dslimserver=slimserver.hme1.samad.com.au -jar /usr/share/slimserver/HTML/EN/html/softsqueeze/SoftSqueeze.jar &

from inside a script (running as root)

with this in my ~/.asoundrc file
pcm.dsp0 { type plug slave.pcm "dmix" }

but it doesn't seem to make any difference. The audio point to hw:0.0

AndyMc
2008-03-10, 15:38
A few questions to clarify what is happening:

Does squeezeslave work using aoss?
What software are you using to play videos?
Is that software using ALSA for it's sound output?
When you said that that sound "locks up", when does this happen? and what do you mean by "locks up"? ie. Does it never make any sound? Or does other software become unable to use the sound system?

KeyzerSuze
2008-03-10, 17:12
A few questions to clarify what is happening:

Does squeezeslave work using aoss?
What software are you using to play videos?
Is that software using ALSA for it's sound output?
When you said that that sound "locks up", when does this happen? and what do you mean by "locks up"? ie. Does it never make any sound? Or does other software become unable to use the sound system?

Hi
1st I had a bit of a brain fart, I presumed squeezeslave was an early version of softsqueeze. trying to use aoss with softsqueeze, I am now try squeezeslave and i have found this thread http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=37460&highlight=softsqueeze+alsa
having a read through this.

My initial problem was locking up the pcm, ie not allowing any other device to use it at the same time.

my new problem with sl is that I need to use aoss, but sl is compiled for 32b environment and I am runnng debian amd64. yes it works, but when I try it with aoss it fails :(, so I have to get a aoss-32 or recompile sl for 64b, which I am in the process of doing, just have to find all the dev libraries

thanks

AndyMc
2008-03-10, 20:16
No worries. Let us all know how you go.

I too, am yet to get SoftSqueeze outputting sound. Using aoss does not help. So I just use squeezeslave....