PDA

View Full Version : Trends Audio UD-10 and Softsqueeze



rbryant
2008-02-19, 16:13
Hi all

I have just bought a Trends Audio UD-10

http://www.desktopaudio.co.uk/trendsud10.1.html

It is now attached to my computer and then to Logitech 2300 2.1 speakers. It seems a worthwhile improvement to the computer soundcard (Audigy - cost about 70) ... BUT ... while it works fine playing music via Mediamonkey or Musicmatch Jukebox. it does not play from Softsqueeze. I prefer Softsqueeze as it synchronises with my 3 Squeezeboxes in other rooms so I can move around and listen to the same music.

Any ideas about how to make the UD-10 work with Softsqueeze ?

rbryant
2008-02-21, 00:56
All suggestions gratefully received

radish
2008-02-21, 06:31
I believe there's a menu entry in softaqueeze to select the output device to use - did you check that's set correctly?

rbryant
2008-02-21, 12:53
Thanks, but cannot find it - have flicked through everything on the Softsqueeze menu and on player settings on slimserver - any suggestions where to look?

radish
2008-02-21, 13:05
I haven't used softsqueeze in ages, but according the the FAQ at http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net/faq.html there's an "Audio Mixer" setting on the prefs page. The other thing you can check (which might fix it) is in windows control panel - make sure the UD10 is set as the default output device.

rbryant
2008-02-21, 14:36
hmm - tried eveything I can think off including downloading the java mp3 plugin, cannot find a preferences menu or audio mixer anywhere.

radish
2008-02-21, 21:29
OK, I just fired up softsqueeze to find this menu. I'm using the latest (3.6) and you can get to the prefs menu by clicking the icon at the top left of the display (looks like a list of items). The Audio tab has the output device selector.

rbryant
2008-02-22, 06:10
Too kind - it is always the obvious bit that stumps me - well obvious afterwards anyway - I found the drop-down menu, changed the setting to USB device and bob is my uncle. Got great sound synchronised in 4 rooms now, and at very reasonable cost. Thanks Radish

R

radish
2008-02-22, 07:08
No problem!

Dean L. Surkin
2008-07-07, 12:19
Does anyone know how I change the audio mixer preferences in the headless version? I'm running Ubuntu 8.04, and do not know which file contains the Softsqueeze preferences.

Ubuntu 8.04 AMD64
Squeezecenter 7.02
Softsqueeze 3.6

Thanks!

--Dean L. Surkin

Dean L. Surkin
2008-07-07, 18:46
I finally found the preference file by doing a search for "softsqueeze." So now I have another question: the file is an XML file that has the line:
entry key="audio.mixer" value="SB[plugw:0,0]"
I understand that I need to change that to use the java mixer (which in turn will feed Pulseaudio on Ubuntu 8.04). I'll try to figure it out, but if anyone knows, I'd appreciate the help.

--Dean L. Surkin

radish
2008-07-07, 20:46
Can you fire it up on a non-headless box and try copying the value?

Dean L. Surkin
2008-07-09, 10:47
radish--

Unfortunately, not. My headless server is the only Linux box in my house; my other computer is Windows XP. Perhaps if someone can take a look at their preferences file (i.e., look at the text of the file, not the options displayed in the GUI), they can tell me what setting works.

--Dean L. Surkin