PDA

View Full Version : Dead SLIMP3 hardware?



Andrew Booker
2004-02-08, 14:21
Hi,

I've got a SLIMP3 which has behaved perfectly for about a year and a
half, but has recently started displaying some odd behaviour. Over the
last few days, when powering on, one of a number of things would happen:

- In the 'do you want to set up the player' menu, pressing any remote
control button caused the top left character on the display to go
blank, and then the SLIMP3 wouldn't respond any more, requiring a
power cycle.
- If that didn't happen, and I was able to choose something from the
menu, the SLIMP3 would sometimes reset itself instead of looking
for DHCP/SLIMP3 servers.
- Alternatively, if it did contact the SLIMP3 server, it would work
perfectly for anything between a few minutes and a few hours, and
then hang completely. Running tcpdump on the server machine showed
that box sending out ARP packets to try and find the SLIMP3, all of
which were going unanswered. (This happened whether I was playing
music or if I just left it 'off' displaying the date/time). I should
also mention that this was the first of these symptoms that I saw
happen.

I tried the obvious stuff - using different network cables, and a
different hub, but this had no effect.

Finally, last night, I tried reprogramming the firmware - the first
time I tried this it failed at 75% complete, and then the SLIMP3
wouldn't display anything on the screen at all, whether I turned it
on normally, or in firmware update mode. Eventually, I left it
powered on with the blank screen, and after about 15 minutes or so,
it suddenly jumped into life again (and did the top left character
going blank problem described above).

I then power-cycled it again, into firmware update mode, and
reprogrammed the firmware again, this time successfully. However,
this didn't solve my problems, and I was still seeing any of the
symptoms described earlier.

Finally, tonight, trying to turn it on results in the completely
blank screen again. Once it managed to display the word
"Initializing...", but then hung immediately and I had to power
cycle it again. Now, it's been turned on for over half an hour
without displaying anything.

Does anybody have any suggestions as to what might be going on here?
Am I so stuck in these problems that I'm being completely blind to
an obvious solution?

I can really only deduce that something is seriously wrong in the
hardware, which leads me to ask how do I go about getting a SLIMP3
repaired - from in the UK?

Andrew

--
+--------------------------------------------------------------+
| Andrew Booker "A careful man tries to dodge the bullets |
| abooker (AT) gmx (DOT) net While a happy man takes a walk |
| ICQ: 36483568 And maybe it's time to live" |
+--------------------------------------------------------------+

Andrew Booker
2004-02-19, 04:15
On Sun, Feb 08, 2004 at 09:21:13PM +0000, I wrote:

> I've got a SLIMP3 which has behaved perfectly for about a year and a
> half, but has recently started displaying some odd behaviour. Over the
> last few days, when powering on, one of a number of things would happen:

<snip long description of problem>

Just for the record, the problem was fixed by replacing the
microcontroller inside the SLIMP3.

Thanks go to SlimDevices, who sent me a replacement free of charge to
the UK within a few days of my original posting here.

Andrew

--
+--------------------------------------------------------------+
| Andrew Booker "A careful man tries to dodge the bullets |
| abooker (AT) gmx (DOT) net While a happy man takes a walk |
| ICQ: 36483568 And maybe it's time to live" |
+--------------------------------------------------------------+