PDA

View Full Version : Network question after EMP burst



jaywills
2008-02-06, 08:36
Good morning. As some of you may have read, we had tornados/bad weather here in Arkansas last night (we're OK). We had a huge lightning strike in my back yard that apparently generated a substantial enough electromagnetic pulse to blow all of my computers (and almost every microprocessor controlled appliance) off line. While I have been successful in getting almost everything back up, one of my remote wired Squeezeboxes 3 refuses to find/log into the network. I'm running a Leopard (10.5.1) server using only an ethernet-wired network. Have done the reconfig routine on the computer, the network hubs and the Squeezeboxes, yet I can get only one Squeezebox 3 to log onto my Slimserver network.

Any ideas? Thanks very much. Cordially, Jay Wills

SuperQ
2008-02-06, 10:37
#1: Call Logitech support

#2: Lightning to ground strikes do not cause EMPs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electromagnetic_pulse
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lightning

seanadams
2008-02-06, 11:08
Does the SB3 get an address from DHCP? If not, then either the SB3's ethernet port is fried, or some other equipment between it and the DHCP server is damaged.

jaywills
2008-02-06, 11:55
"#2: Lightning to ground strikes do not cause EMPs."

Sorry, I meant to type "EMF." Very helpful comment. Appreciate it.

No, Sean, it doesn't seem to be able to pull an address from DHCP. Will try switching around my Squeezeboxes when I get home from work. Any fix for a fried ethernet port this side of a new Squeezebox? Thanks very much. Cordially,

jaywills
2008-02-09, 06:16
For those whose Squeezebox ethernet ports stop working after a close lightning strike as did mine, I stumbled on a solution. Try the reset to factory defaults (hold down the "add" button on the remote when you plug in the power cord) or another reset (hold down the "1" button on the remote when plugging in the power). This brought my ethernet port on the Squeezebox back to life. Cordially,