PDA

View Full Version : no connection attempt to private-range ips



finger
2008-01-30, 08:51
Hi,

I use a squeezenetwork-configured SB3 and when I add a link in the favorite-box with a private-range ip address (my own laptop with a minimal httpd), the SB3 just does nothing when asked to play the new favorite. (of course, one has to ignore the squeezenetwork java-script warning, since SN will never be able to verify the stream)

I tcpdump-ed the tcp-port - not one single byte passed.
I tcpdump-ed the arp traffic - the SB3 never asked for the physical address of my laptop.


Additionally I found out, that the SB3 _never_ replies to an arp who-has broadcast. This is actually not a problem but it seems strange behavior to me. (it asks however for the MAC of our standard-gateway every few minutes.)

Every other host in my WLAN is able to reach the laptop.


TIA,

finger


BTW: the favorite-link looks like this:

http://192.168.1.99:9000/file.mp3

SuperQ
2008-01-30, 09:51
Hrm, There may be server side checking even if you bypass the javascript test.

Your debugging was pretty good, so I think this is one that will have to be answered by the server admins.

SuperQ
2008-01-30, 09:53
Oh, hey, I just thought of something. The Squeezebox normally uses port 9000 for server communication.. maybe they have that port reserved in the code, either server side or squeezebox side. Try changing your httpd to 8080.

Another option would be to allow port forwarding on your router and only allow the slimdevices IP block to connect to the port. Then you could use the external port of your router to play the stream.

Shouldn't cause too much load on your NAT.

andyg
2008-01-30, 13:09
Try adding the favorite on SN as http://192.168.1.99:9000/file.mp3#slim:noscan=1

finger
2008-01-30, 13:30
Try adding the favorite on SN as http://192.168.1.99:9000/file.mp3#slim:noscan=1

Great, that did it!


And now I'm dying to hear where `noscan' is documented.. ;) no, honestly, what does it mean and are there more such magic parameters?

I also noticed that my SB3 never attempts to contact our local name-server for name-resolution nor does it try to connect to external name-servers. But since name-resolution has to be done somehow I wonder if the SB3 gets the info from SN? (thats somehow important if you override some dns-zones)

radish
2008-01-30, 13:54
My understanding is that normally SQN tries to connect to the URL itself to check whether it's valid, noscan disables that.

andyg
2008-01-30, 13:57
DNS happens in the server for streams. So you couldn't use for example http://mylocalhostname:9000/file.mp3.

finger
2008-01-30, 14:08
DNS happens in the server for streams.

`in the server for streams'?

The SB3 has to do some name-resolution otherwise it could not resolve hostnames from various playlists I use.

However, since no udp-53-connections are made between my SB3 and any internal/external name-server upon a radio-station switch, I assume that the SB3 resolves names over squeezenetwork?

andyg
2008-01-30, 14:14
The SB3 does not resolve any hostnames other than www.squeezenetwork.com. If you use non-public hostnames they are going to break on SN.

finger
2008-01-30, 14:30
The SB3 does not resolve any hostnames other than www.squeezenetwork.com.

How does the SB3 handle the following list then?



$ cat tmp/playlists/list.m3u
http://us-tx1.streams.bassdrive.com:9000
http://visionshosting.net.streams.bassdrive.com:8004
http://shoutdrive.streams.bassdrive.com:8000
http://spechal.com.streams.bassdrive.com:8000
http://uk.streams.bassdrive.com:8000
http://aol.streams.bassdrive.com:8012
http://pngusa.streams.bassdrive.com:8000


Does it guess the addresses of all those names? ;)



If you use non-public hostnames they are going to break on SN.

I think you got my post wrong. If you use some kind of a dns-forwarder with overriding functionality and the SB3 would do name-resolution by itself -- then there is no reason why supplying a resolvable hostname shouldn't work. But I don't have a problem with being wrong on this issue -- just explain to me in technical terms why I'm wrong.. :)

andyg
2008-01-30, 14:35
OK as I said earlier, the SqueezeNetwork server (or your own SqueezeCenter) will resolve those hostnames.

finger
2008-01-30, 14:46
OK as I said earlier, the SqueezeNetwork server (or your own SqueezeCenter) will resolve those hostnames.

Thanks, that makes sense! I think investing some time into a SqueezeCenter would pay off soon.. :)