PDA

View Full Version : new controller with sb3?



chazk13
2008-01-23, 17:12
I'm sure this has been covered, tried to search but couldn't find an answer. Will the new controller work with the SB3?

aubuti
2008-01-23, 17:24
yes, it works just fine with any SB or the Transporter.

SuperQ
2008-01-24, 03:34
Has anyone tested using the controller with a slimp3?

mherger
2008-01-24, 03:40
> Has anyone tested using the controller with a slimp3?

Sure. No problem.

--

Michael

peter
2008-01-24, 04:58
SuperQ wrote:
> Has anyone tested using the controller with a slimp3?
>

The controller controls SC7.0, which, in turn, controls the
SB/SBR/TP/SliMP3/SoftSqueeze.
So any player that works with SC7.0 can be controlled with the controller.

Regards,
Peter

studley
2008-01-24, 07:55
Does using the controller force the loss of Gapless playback as adding a second SB3 would?

Thanks, David

radish
2008-01-24, 09:13
Does using the controller force the loss of Gapless playback as adding a second SB3 would?

Thanks, David

Adding multiple players doesn't have any affect on gapless playback unless they're synced. The controller is a controller, not a player (yet!), so it doesn't affect playback in any way and obviously can't be part of a sync group.

studley
2008-01-24, 09:31
Adding multiple players doesn't have any affect on gapless playback unless they're synced. The controller is a controller, not a player (yet!), so it doesn't affect playback in any way and obviously can't be part of a sync group.

Thanks for the reply, radish. I was, in fact, talking about synced gapless. I was wondering because the controller is showing what is playing and therefore needs to be 'kind of synced'.

If not, then this is what I've been trying to get my other SB3s to do... be used as controllers and monitors (without audio)without messing with the lossless.

I also noticed the headphone jack on the controller. Once that is turned on, it WILL be a player and would probably kill lossless playback.

Cheers, David

aubuti
2008-01-24, 10:06
I was wondering because the controller is showing what is playing and therefore needs to be 'kind of synced'.
I think the key part of that is "kind of". AFAIK, SC7 makes no attempt to change the "Now Playing" information on the SBC at precisely the same moment that the audio tracks change. Likewise, I expect (but have absolutely zero hard evidence) that once the player is activated in the SBC, it will only cause problems with gapless if you explicitly try to sync it as a player.

radish
2008-01-24, 10:33
If not, then this is what I've been trying to get my other SB3s to do... be used as controllers and monitors (without audio)without messing with the lossless.

Yup, I can confirm that regular unsynced playback is perfectly gapless even with an SBC showing the Now Playing screen. Synced playback is still not gapless (alas) - maybe one day :)

bpa
2008-01-24, 12:04
Once that is turned on, it WILL be a player and would probably kill lossless playback.

I don't know where you get that idea from. Why should adding another player kill any lossless playback. In December I had a beta SBC running softsqueeze acting as a player and controller and it didn't affect lossless of any other SB3 player.

studley
2008-01-24, 13:32
I don't know where you get that idea from. Why should adding another player kill any lossless playback. In December I had a beta SBC running softsqueeze acting as a player and controller and it didn't affect lossless of any other SB3 player.

My apologies. Not lossless... gapless. My Ritalin must have worn off. :)

D.

bpa
2008-01-24, 14:27
Again "gapless" will only be a problem if the SBC is acting as synched player. It should cause no difference if it playing audio as an un-synched player.

jaysung
2008-01-24, 15:45
You say sbc controls sc7 and that in turn controls the players. What about setup? Is SC7 able to setup a new i.e sbr player on it's own?
Cause if the controler doesn't interact with the player directly there must be a way to setup the player via the server. Not sure how that might work though. Anyway, it would be great since we would be able to find players on the lan without using a nonexistent or (for the blinds nonusable display) on the players.
BR
Jeronimo

radish
2008-01-24, 17:40
You say sbc controls sc7 and that in turn controls the players. What about setup? Is SC7 able to setup a new i.e sbr player on it's own?
Cause if the controler doesn't interact with the player directly there must be a way to setup the player via the server. Not sure how that might work though. Anyway, it would be great since we would be able to find players on the lan without using a nonexistent or (for the blinds nonusable display) on the players.
BR
Jeronimo

The controller does interact directly with the receiver during setup (and only during setup). Once setup everything goes through SC.