PDA

View Full Version : Yac2Slim and multiple players



Josh LaRosee - VIB TV
2004-02-03, 10:54
Sorry for riding the "Yac2Slim" subject!! Didn't mean to. :)

Thanks for the info, Jason.

-Josh


----- Original Message -----
From: "Jason Holtzapple" <jasonholtzapple (AT) yahoo (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Tuesday, February 03, 2004 9:55 AM
Subject: [slim] Yac2Slim and multiple players


> --- Josh LaRosee - VIB TV <josh (AT) vib (DOT) tv> wrote:
> > I asked this a few days ago but am hoping to get a little more feedback
this
> > time around. :)
> >
> > I am running slimserver on Linux RH server (Duel 1ghz, 1gb ram, 100mb
> > ethernet) along with httpd, half-life server, and a ventrillo server.
When
> > more than one client tunes into the server stream the stream begins to
> > glitch and skip.
> >
> > My question is does Slimp3 slimserver support more than one listening
> > client? If so, can anyone shed light on what I am experiencing?
>
> Sure does. Maybe you're running into a low CPU or memory situation.
> Try 'renice'ing the server process to -10 or so and see if that helps.
> You can use the vmstat tool to see if you have a memory shortage.
>
> --Jason
>
> __________________________________
> Do you Yahoo!?
> Yahoo! SiteBuilder - Free web site building tool. Try it!
> http://webhosting.yahoo.com/ps/sb/
>

Jason Holtzapple
2004-02-03, 10:55
--- Josh LaRosee - VIB TV <josh (AT) vib (DOT) tv> wrote:
> I asked this a few days ago but am hoping to get a little more feedback this
> time around. :)
>
> I am running slimserver on Linux RH server (Duel 1ghz, 1gb ram, 100mb
> ethernet) along with httpd, half-life server, and a ventrillo server. When
> more than one client tunes into the server stream the stream begins to
> glitch and skip.
>
> My question is does Slimp3 slimserver support more than one listening
> client? If so, can anyone shed light on what I am experiencing?

Sure does. Maybe you're running into a low CPU or memory situation.
Try 'renice'ing the server process to -10 or so and see if that helps.
You can use the vmstat tool to see if you have a memory shortage.

--Jason

__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! SiteBuilder - Free web site building tool. Try it!
http://webhosting.yahoo.com/ps/sb/