PDA

View Full Version : Windows Home Server (search problem)



phicar2
2008-01-21, 10:42
Can I run Slimserver on a Windows Home Server?

Sorry if this has been answered but I tried to search and I got this error:

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 1024 bytes) in /www/forums.slimdevices.com/search.php on line 842

Siduhe
2008-01-21, 10:46
Short answer is yes you can, (no direct experience, but there are plenty of threads about it).

Try this (http://forums.slimdevices.com/search.php?searchid=942506) search to get you started.

If you have problems with the forum search, try doing a site specific search in Google like this (http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=%22windows+home+server%22+OR+%22whs%22+si te:http://forums.slimdevices.com&hl=en&start=10&sa=N). Usually works where the forums search doesn't.

radish
2008-01-21, 11:35
There's also a bunch of threads related to WHS in the third party hardware forum.

Zaragon
2008-01-21, 13:20
Yes you can that's exactly what I'm doing here.

There isn't a WHS installer for it though. Just copy the windows package to the server and run the installer using the admin login. If the WHS is headless then use the remote desktop to log in.

You can set the music directory either using the d:\music format or you can also use the UNC share notation //servername/music both work.

phicar2
2008-02-06, 07:22
Cool, thanks! One more (stupid) clarification question: is the best/easiest thing to do to copy all my music to "c:\music" folder on my WHS (or d:\music? I do have 2 hard drives, is one option better than the other?)
Thanks!

Then I assume in the future as I rip more CDs I would do that on a client machine and then just copy those files to that folder on the WHS?

byKnight
2008-02-06, 09:18
Cool, thanks! One more (stupid) clarification question: is the best/easiest thing to do to copy all my music to "c:\music" folder on my WHS (or d:\music? I do have 2 hard drives, is one option better than the other?)
Thanks!

Then I assume in the future as I rip more CDs I would do that on a client machine and then just copy those files to that folder on the WHS?

You should copy all of your music to \\SERVER\Music.

You should also set SqueezeCenter (or SlimServer) to find the music at \\SERVER\Music (not D:\Music). That way, if you have folder duplication turned on for the Music folder and you lose a hard drive, you can keep streaming tunes with missing a beat.

phicar2
2008-02-06, 09:41
You should copy all of your music to \\SERVER\Music.

You should also set SqueezeCenter (or SlimServer) to find the music at \\SERVER\Music (not D:\Music). That way, if you have folder duplication turned on for the Music folder and you lose a hard drive, you can keep streaming tunes with missing a beat.


Will do! Thanks!

Zaragon
2008-02-07, 02:26
You should copy all of your music to \\SERVER\Music.

You should also set SqueezeCenter (or SlimServer) to find the music at \\SERVER\Music (not D:\Music). That way, if you have folder duplication turned on for the Music folder and you lose a hard drive, you can keep streaming tunes with missing a beat.

Although I completely agree with this as it is much better practice and can provide longer term advantages it doesn't actually matter as both are the same irrespective of folder duplication.

The way in which WHS works is that files D:\folders (IIRC as I'm not near mine) basically links to the files stored elsewhere (similar in concept to Linux symbolic links). Microsoft call them Toomstones and they contain a reference to where the file is actually stored, including it's duplicate if it is turned on. The files are actually stored in the directories that consist of strings of numbers and letters (IIRC these are the mount points for the individual disks). You shouldn't access files in those areas as WHS would loose track of them, not duplicate those that should be and may move them at any time. This is how WHS manages storage behind the scenes.

When using WHS always store all data in the D or \\server\directory not on the C drive. C is not replicated and the drive is limited to a 30GB partition.