PDA

View Full Version : Boxed in



HeavyB
2008-01-16, 10:00
I seem to have a problem or rather a lack of some basic comprehension as to how my Squeezebox et.al. should be configured/set up. I have muddled through and figured out how to get everything to work (Squeezebox plays my music library on my stereo and I can switch it to Squeeze Network and listen to radio streaming like the BBC World Service feed, as I am doing now and I can access the music library on my PC via Softsqueeze) . . . but only if I am careful.

A problem arises though if the last thing that I had listened to/used on the Squeezebox was SlimServer. In this scenario, I turn off the Squeezebox - and at some point also turn 'off' my PC (sleep or hibernate or whatever). Later in the day, I turn Squeezebox on to listen to the radio via Squeeze Network without turning on my PC. Squeezebox attempts to connect but in that the last thing I had been using was the aforementioned SlimServer, Squeezebox attempts to connect to it but cannot and it proceeds into set-up and eventually resets (in Dutch I might add) itself. I know how to prevent this from happening, just by making sure the last thing that I tuned in on Squeezebox was Squeeze Network or to always have my PC turned on, but this can't possibly be the correct set up, can it?

I suspect the problem is related to the fact that 2 players are recognized. One (127.0.0.1 . . .) when Squeezebox is off and another (192.268.2.2) when Squeezebox is on. Is it just a matter of asking SlimServer to "forget" about the 127... player (presumably my PC?) ? I am leery of asking it to do so without asking here first.

Your help is very much appreciated.

Server Settings: SlimServer version 6.5.4, Server IP address 192.168.2.2

Player Settings for 127.0.0.1 (IP address 127.0.0.1 . . .)
-no other information given

Player Settings for 192.168.2.3 (IP address 192.168.2.3 . . .)
MAC address 00:04:20:07:df:97
Player Firmware Version 81

maggior
2008-01-16, 10:36
When you turn on the squeezebox, press and hold the left arrow (navigation) button. This will bring up a menu where you can go into the network settings. Actually, you probably don't have to turn the squeezebox on to do this.

Scroll through and you will see an option to connect to squeezenetwork. Select this and press play. You should then connect to squeezenetwork.

Certainly not intuitive, but it will work.

You don't have to worry about telling the server to forget any players.

Have fun!
Rich

HeavyB
2008-01-16, 11:04
I appreciate the reply but I don't have any problems connecting to Squeeze Network, that is as long as it was connected the last time I turned Squeezebox off. The problem (if it is one?) arises when I am listening to my music library via SlimServer and I turn off the Squeezebox and also shut down or put my PC to sleep. If I then try to access Squeeze Network via the Squeezebox (without my PC running) it automatically goes into a reset whereby I lose my presets, favoties, language, date-time format etc.). I can get around the problem by eitehr
a.) just making sure to tune Squeezebox into Squeeze Network before turning Squeezebox off OR
b.) making sure my PC is running before turning Squeezebox on

But, since Squeeze Network is supposed to be an always-on service, it seems to me as though something is amiss somewhere and that it is something basic with how I am connected.

schatzy
2008-01-16, 11:15
Later in the day, I turn Squeezebox on to listen to the radio via Squeeze Network without turning on my PC. Squeezebox attempts to connect but in that the last thing I had been using was the aforementioned SlimServer, Squeezebox attempts to connect to it but cannot and it proceeds into set-up and eventually resets (in Dutch I might add) itself. I know how to prevent this from happening, just by making sure the last thing that I tuned in on Squeezebox was Squeeze Network or to always have my PC turned on, but this can't possibly be the correct set up, can it?


Unfortunately by turning off the PC you have nothing for the Squeezebox to connect to so it must go back to trying to find something to connect to and that results in the network configuration coming up.

This is standard operation. As maggior stated "Scroll through and you will see an option to connect to squeezenetwork."

Your other 2 options are
1. set it to Squeezenetwork each time before you press the off button
2. turn your computer on first, let it start up and then start your Squeezebox.

Schatzy

HeavyB
2008-01-16, 12:52
maggior & schatzy,

Thanks much for the replys,

I feel much better now! I love the Squeezbox . . .