PDA

View Full Version : Streaming interruption Q



mapatton
2008-01-13, 07:18
OK, a bit of a twist on the old question.
Both my wife and I have Softsqueeze on our work computers (different companies, locations, IPS, etc) accessing the server at home. The install is with LAME as the files are in flac on the server, and converted when streamed over the internet.

Well, I never encounter stuttering, etc. She encounters stuttering at times. She says this is whenever I am on it as well.

I would presume it is a bandwidth issue (using a 5Mbps cable connection) on the upstream, but,,

It is odd that I do not encounter this stuttering when she is on. I have tried both proxy and direct streaming. I have adjusted both our settings in effort to minimize upstream needs.

Thoughts? Is anyone streaming using internet to different locations using a cable connection at the server? Care to offer your settings that work?

Thanks!

mapatton
2008-01-15, 12:09
Bump
Any assistance?


OK, a bit of a twist on the old question.
Both my wife and I have Softsqueeze on our work computers (different companies, locations, IPS, etc) accessing the server at home. The install is with LAME as the files are in flac on the server, and converted when streamed over the internet.

Well, I never encounter stuttering, etc. She encounters stuttering at times. She says this is whenever I am on it as well.

I would presume it is a bandwidth issue (using a 5Mbps cable connection) on the upstream, but,,

It is odd that I do not encounter this stuttering when she is on. I have tried both proxy and direct streaming. I have adjusted both our settings in effort to minimize upstream needs.

Thoughts? Is anyone streaming using internet to different locations using a cable connection at the server? Care to offer your settings that work?

Thanks!

mapatton
2008-01-16, 13:00
No one can assist with this? I find that odd.


Bump
Any assistance?

Super-Gonzo
2008-01-16, 13:08
How much work is the CPU doing (on the server) to transcode 2 streams at once? Perhaps your running out of oomph there, rather than bandwidth?

If this is the case, you might try changing the lame encoding quality to a lower level, which has less cpu cost.

schatzy
2008-01-16, 13:24
No one can assist with this? I find that odd.

Sometimes it takes a little while (sometimes as much as a day or more) to get someone on the forum that knows the answer to your question.


I would presume it is a bandwidth issue (using a 5Mbps cable connection) on the upstream, but,,

Most cable internet connections have a slower speed of upload than they do of download. Like my cable connection at my house has a download speed of up to 15MB sec (usually runs about 12MB) while the upload speed is only 768KB (usually runs around 680KB).

You can check this at http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Click on one of the cities nearest you and when it has finished it will give you two numbers one is the download speed the second is the upload speed.

If your upload speed is less than 800KB you may have a problem, especially trying to run two streams.

Also does your wife find that it is a certain time of day that this happens like shortly after school lets out?

I know in my neighborhood when school lets out and all the children arrive home the upload and download speeds go down dramatically. This is caused by the amount of traffic on the system. The more traffic the slower everyone gets.

Also what is the streaming bit rate?

I have tried to stream 360kbs tracks and it does not work well even on the 768 upload because of the overhead data that is required.

So check your speeds and answer a couple other questions and i will try to help you try to get this sorted out.

Speed Upload?
Speed Download?
Time of day it is the worst?
bit rate of your tracks?

Schatzy

mapatton
2008-01-17, 08:19
How much work is the CPU doing (on the server) to transcode 2 streams at once? Perhaps your running out of oomph there, rather than bandwidth?

If this is the case, you might try changing the lame encoding quality to a lower level, which has less cpu cost.

Many thanks!. I believe the CPU should be fine (2.8 dual core, 2 gigs ram, 2 TB RAID 0+1) as it is fairly stout and dedicated.

I will check though to make sure something odd isn;t going on.

mapatton
2008-01-17, 08:20
Sometimes it takes a little while (sometimes as much as a day or more) to get someone on the forum that knows the answer to your question.



Most cable internet connections have a slower speed of upload than they do of download. Like my cable connection at my house has a download speed of up to 15MB sec (usually runs about 12MB) while the upload speed is only 768KB (usually runs around 680KB).

You can check this at http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Click on one of the cities nearest you and when it has finished it will give you two numbers one is the download speed the second is the upload speed.

If your upload speed is less than 800KB you may have a problem, especially trying to run two streams.

Also does your wife find that it is a certain time of day that this happens like shortly after school lets out?

I know in my neighborhood when school lets out and all the children arrive home the upload and download speeds go down dramatically. This is caused by the amount of traffic on the system. The more traffic the slower everyone gets.

Also what is the streaming bit rate?

I have tried to stream 360kbs tracks and it does not work well even on the 768 upload because of the overhead data that is required.

So check your speeds and answer a couple other questions and i will try to help you try to get this sorted out.

Speed Upload?
Speed Download?
Time of day it is the worst?
bit rate of your tracks?

Schatzy

Many thanks. I will check on this. Time of day it is worst is around 10 AM.
Will get the other answers and report back.
Ijust found it odd that only she is experiencing this.

mapatton
2008-01-18, 11:32
Many thanks!. I believe the CPU should be fine (2.8 dual core, 2 gigs ram, 2 TB RAID 0+1) as it is fairly stout and dedicated.

I will check though to make sure something odd isn;t going on.


Checked it, with 2 streams and the SB3 running my compuer CPU usage is 3% with 364meg of 2 gig used.

Siduhe
2008-01-18, 11:36
Sounds more like something on your wife's computer is interfering with the remote playback. What security software is there on the box that your wife is running Softsqueeze on?

I can't play audio consistently on my work pc as it's always connecting to our servers, scanning something before I access it, backing up something or downloading something.

Could this be a factor?

mapatton
2008-01-18, 11:40
Sometimes it takes a little while (sometimes as much as a day or more) to get someone on the forum that knows the answer to your question.



Most cable internet connections have a slower speed of upload than they do of download. Like my cable connection at my house has a download speed of up to 15MB sec (usually runs about 12MB) while the upload speed is only 768KB (usually runs around 680KB).

You can check this at http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Click on one of the cities nearest you and when it has finished it will give you two numbers one is the download speed the second is the upload speed.

If your upload speed is less than 800KB you may have a problem, especially trying to run two streams.

Also does your wife find that it is a certain time of day that this happens like shortly after school lets out?

I know in my neighborhood when school lets out and all the children arrive home the upload and download speeds go down dramatically. This is caused by the amount of traffic on the system. The more traffic the slower everyone gets.

Also what is the streaming bit rate?

I have tried to stream 360kbs tracks and it does not work well even on the 768 upload because of the overhead data that is required.

So check your speeds and answer a couple other questions and i will try to help you try to get this sorted out.

Speed Upload?
Speed Download?
Time of day it is the worst?
bit rate of your tracks?

Schatzy

OK tested at the worst time which is 10-11AM. In addition my daughter is home, so no knowing what she might be sharing. (This is not normally the case).

Up = 493 kpbs
Down = 7684
TOD = 10-11AM
bit rate = 192 kbps (for both streams)

which is much lower than what I had it. I had my wife down to this level with myself still at 320. I had no issues, she had issues. I lowered mine and it didn;t seem to help hers at all.

Also while testing, I was running 2 SS streasms as well as the SB3 (and my daughter's computer previously referenced)

schatzy
2008-01-18, 20:02
Up = 493 kpbs
Down = 7684
TOD = 10-11AM
bit rate = 192 kbps (for both streams)

which is much lower than what I had it. I had my wife down to this level with myself still at 320. I had no issues, she had issues. I lowered mine and it didn;t seem to help hers at all.


It seems that your upload speed very low. Also if you add 192 + 192 = 384 + overhead is getting very close to the upload speed. If you can try an experiment (it may sound lousy) by dropping your bit rates to 92kpbs for a day or two to see what happens. if this clears the problem up then it is the upload speed that is causing your problem.

If this test doe not help, as Siduhe said there may be something running your wifes computer that is interfering with the stream such as Anitvirus or Antispyware software. Another posiblity is that there is a back network card of cable connecting here computer to the network.


Many thanks!. I believe the CPU should be fine (2.8 dual core, 2 gigs ram, 2 TB RAID 0+1) as it is fairly stout and dedicated. ... Checked it, with 2 streams and the SB3 running my computer CPU usage is 3% with 364meg of 2 gig used.

As you had stated in an earlier post your processor and its usage should not be a problem.

Schatzy

mapatton
2008-01-19, 09:35
Sounds more like something on your wife's computer is interfering with the remote playback. What security software is there on the box that your wife is running Softsqueeze on?

I can't play audio consistently on my work pc as it's always connecting to our servers, scanning something before I access it, backing up something or downloading something.

Could this be a factor?

That's what I thought, but she swears that if I am not using it at my work, it's fine on her end.

I know what I need to do. I need to replicate the scenario, its just that we work about 40 miles apart. Will see about loading SS on a co-workers system (to simulate mine), get it going, then drive to my wife's location and check it out.

mapatton
2008-02-10, 12:53
Realized I never came back to thank everyone. Problem it appears has been addressed as she has had a number of weeks with no issues. I took her bit rate to 128 and set at proxied. (My bit rate is still up).

pichonCalavera
2008-02-10, 18:29
Hi, I'm trying to tune my remote streaming settings, doing some tests with Squeezecenter 7 on the server with Debian 4.0 Etch that is not very powerful, just 1 Ghz CPU and 396 MB RAM, installed at my home. I'm using Winamp to stream music from my server thru the Internet on a Windows Vista machine.

My upload internet connection speed on the server at home is like 128Kbps - 192Kbps (going to test it when I get home). The download internet connection speed here on the client is like 1 Mbps.

I've tried 128Kbps bitrate for streaming on my Player setting under Squeezecenter, but got too many dropouts, so I went to 96Kbps and can stream just fine, but when I'm navigating the Web GUI, sometimes the music drops out, so I've tried 64Kbps and can stream just fine.

But I would like to try streaming at 80Kbps, but on the Audio Player Settings page on Squeezecenter I can't choose this option (it goes from 64 to 96), is there a way to move in a configuration file or something so I can try 80Kbps?

And what exactly is the "LAME Quality Level" setting?, if I lower the value, the quality of the sound can increase at the expense of CPU power on the server side?

pichonCalavera
2008-02-11, 01:42
But I would like to try streaming at 80Kbps, but on the Audio Player Settings page on Squeezecenter I can't choose this option (it goes from 64 to 96), is there a way to move in a configuration file or something so I can try 80Kbps?


I was able to find it, if someone is interested you'll have to change a line of source code, in a file located on /HTML/EN/settings/player/audio.html (the complete path varies between OS), look on line 260 (or close to it) for something like this:



[% FOREACH option = ['64', '96', '128', '160', '192', '256', '320'] %]


And just add the 80 so it looks something like this:



[% FOREACH option = ['64', '80', '96', '128', '160', '192', '256', '320'] %]