PDA

View Full Version : Cat among the pigeons

luuk
2008-01-13, 05:34
Let me start by saying that I have been a very happy and dedicated SB (2) user for a few years now. But, I am now setting up a dedicated home cinema and this raises several questions about how to transport music there from my server. Inevitably I find my mind turning to non-SB solutions because I would also want to transport pictures/video from the server as well. Yet I am reluctant to do so. I have some experience using a PS3 to do precisely that, and this has been less than satisfying. Wouldn't it be great if SBs could also transport images and video? Are there any plans in this direction?

Luuk

Phil Leigh
2008-01-13, 05:35
why dont you just run a PopcornHour alongside the sb?

luuk
2008-01-13, 05:57
Sure, popcorn would be nice too, but the crackling might disturb the music experience. But seriously, whether one streams music or images or video is all basically the same thing. Since the SB can do the one so well, is it too much to hope it might also be put to good use in the other areas ?

Gibbo
2008-01-13, 06:20
I'm shocked it doesn't actually make popcorn!!!

http://www.popcornhour.com/onlinestore/

Phil Leigh
2008-01-13, 09:18
Sure, popcorn would be nice too, but the crackling might disturb the music experience. But seriously, whether one streams music or images or video is all basically the same thing. Since the SB can do the one so well, is it too much to hope it might also be put to good use in the other areas ?

My answer was deadly serious - the PopcornHour is to video what the SB is to music!

pichonCalavera
2008-01-13, 13:15
I don't think there are plans right now to change the focus from Audio to other areas, and if the new Duet is any indication, it's focus will be Audio at least for a while, because the Squeezebox Controller is aimed directly to controlling Music.

My answer was deadly serious - the PopcornHour is to video what the SB is to music!