PDA

View Full Version : Server priority settings



Mnyb
2008-01-13, 00:36
Is there a typo here?

"0 Normal" then you have "-16 High" and "15 Low" ?!?

How can negative numbers be higher server priority, or is it ? gah

I'm running 6.5.4

kdf
2008-01-13, 00:46
On 12-Jan-08, at 11:36 PM, Mnyb wrote:

>
> Is there a typo here?
>
> "0 Normal" then you have "-16 High" and "15 Low" ?!?
>
> How can negative numbers be higher server priority, or is it ? gah

It refers to the nice level. Here is a bit from 'man nice' under linux:

"Run COMMAND with an adjusted niceness, which affects process
scheduling. With no COMMAND, print the current niceness. Nicenesses
range from -20 (most favorable scheduling) to 19 (least favorÔÇÉ
able)."

it's not a typo.
-kdf

Mnyb
2008-01-13, 01:25
So choose -20 for better performance but more load on my machine ?

I try to figure out Some "server response time" issues

kdf
2008-01-13, 01:41
On 13-Jan-08, at 12:25 AM, Mnyb wrote:

>
> So choose -20 for better performance but more load on my machine

That's the idea.
>
> I try to figure out Some "server response time" issues
>
good luck!
-kdf

Mnyb
2008-01-13, 02:08
On 13-Jan-08, at 12:25 AM, Mnyb wrote:

>
> So choose -20 for better performance but more load on my machine

That's the idea.
>
> I try to figure out Some "server response time" issues
>
good luck!
-kdf

I realy need luck :-( win XP . Ofcourse Intermittent, everything is fine and dandy after last reboot.

I'm ripping and flac'ing and surfing and has utorrent running.
oops flac.exe is kicking upp my machine to 60% cpu usage :-/
I'm thick sometimes but, do I expect too much off a 3,6ghz dual core with 4G ram.
Next stepp kicking out norton for something faster.

amcluesent
2008-01-13, 02:18
>Next stepp kicking out norton<

Always a good move :)

Mnyb
2008-01-13, 03:16
>Next stepp kicking out norton<

Always a good move :)

Whats keeping me from it is that one off nortons 10000 bug's is that both the install AND unistall is flawed.
It's sits embedded like a harpoon in your system, You have to use a special unistall tool and nobody knows if it is realy gone then, their are still 100's of registry entries pointing at it.

To make your hairs stand on end the damned app suggest's that you reinstall after some minor crash ! this usually happens 1 week after you done just that so you just give upp.

ModelCitizen
2008-01-13, 03:45
I'd install Esets NOD32.. so much politer and well designed. Works pefectly without hassling you at all. Extremely low machine overhead.. very unlike most of the legacy bloatware apps out there (Nortons and McCafees being the very worst of the bunch).

MC