PDA

View Full Version : Receiver with no display - why?



max.spicer
2008-01-09, 02:28
I'm curious about the rational behind removing the display from the new receiver. I understand that the controller now does all the display work, but can't see how this removes the need for a display on the receiver itself. The controller provides a great interface for selecting and browsing music, but I find the Squeezebox's display invaluable for actually seeing what is being played. With multi-room audio, this is especially an issue, as you get the possibility of one room's audio being programmed from somewhere completely different. Without a display on the receiver, how do people in the room know what they're listening to?

Max

Gibbo
2008-01-09, 02:44
Put a screen on it and you have a SB3 as far as 99.9% of people are concerned. Plus apparently the screen is the expensive part, so no screen means they can provide the receiver as a low cost option.

mherger
2008-01-09, 02:56
> I'm curious about the rational behind removing the display from the new
> receiver.

Because users have been asking for this kind of device.

Michael

Gibbo
2008-01-09, 05:46
It seems pretty obvious to me.

if you want a screen, then buy a SB3 and a "jive" controller.

aubuti
2008-01-09, 08:18
> I'm curious about the rational behind removing the display from the new
> receiver.

Because users have been asking for this kind of device.

Michael
They've either been asking directly, or indirectly, as in "Why can't you make an SB that is much less expensive, say, around the $150 price point?" Taking away the VFD makes that possible. A lot of users still prefer controlling their SB2/SB3 via computer, pda, Nokia770, etc, so this works for them without the SBC. And with the SBC, you don't need the VFD.

I guess the other indirect way of asking for it that is often heard in these forums is "Why can't it be more like Sonos?" ;o)

mr_bill
2008-01-09, 08:31
> I'm curious about the rational behind removing the display from the new
> receiver.

Because users have been asking for this kind of device.

Michael

Michael,

I am interested in the new Duet and especially the Jive as I already have a Transporter and would like the new remote.

I use Media Monkey to manage my files. I would like the album artwork to show on the Jive when I buy one. I am filling in the album artwork now in Media Monkey for the files. Will this album artwork show up in the Jive remote when I'm selecting - is that how that works?

Thanks,
Bill

mherger
2008-01-09, 08:42
> I use Media Monkey to manage my files. I would like the album artwork
> to show on the Jive when I buy one. I am filling in the album artwork
> now in Media Monkey for the files. Will this album artwork show up in
> the Jive remote when I'm selecting - is that how that works?

If the artwork shows up in SqueezeCenter/SlimServer then it will also be displayed on the Controller. It's displayed while browsing albums, or during playback.


--

Michael

m1abrams
2008-01-09, 12:13
For multi-room setup I would considering not having a screen a bonus because in rooms where i just want some music going but not want it the focal point I tend to hide the audio gear anyhow. Nice to now have an option to not have to pay for something I wont use.

Now keep in mind you still can get the version with the screen, course it costs more because well the screens are not cheap. So for me when I get the money, I will have an SB3 in the family room, SB3 in the bedroom, and then just receivers in the kitchen, living room, computer room, upstairs landing. Course I will be buying those extra receivers one at a time so the CFO of the house does not notice.

mr_bill
2008-01-09, 12:49
> I use Media Monkey to manage my files. I would like the album artwork
> to show on the Jive when I buy one. I am filling in the album artwork
> now in Media Monkey for the files. Will this album artwork show up in
> the Jive remote when I'm selecting - is that how that works?

If the artwork shows up in SqueezeCenter/SlimServer then it will also be displayed on the Controller. It's displayed while browsing albums, or during playback.

--

Michael

So I just checked the new Squeezecenter v7.0 that I have installed and checked an album that has the album art show on media monkey, but it doesn't show in Squeezecenter when I bring up that same album.
Is their something I should be doing to get that artwork to show or a link you can point me to that will help like a faq?
Thanks Michael,
Bill

Mark Lanctot
2008-01-09, 12:54
Is their something I should be doing to get that artwork to show or a link you can point me to that will help like a faq?

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?AlbumArtwork

JJZolx
2008-01-09, 12:55
Without a display on the receiver, how do people in the room know what they're listening to?

Oh, man. How have they known for the last 100 years?

I usually run my Transporter with the display off.

mherger
2008-01-09, 12:57
> Is their something I should be doing to get that artwork to show or a
> link you can point me to that will help like a faq?

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?AlbumArtwork

Michael

mkt
2008-01-09, 14:55
Now keep in mind you still can get the version with the screen, course it costs more because well the screens are not cheap. So for me when I get the money, I will have an SB3 in the family room, SB3 in the bedroom, and then just receivers in the kitchen, living room, computer room, upstairs landing. Course I will be buying those extra receivers one at a time so the CFO of the house does not notice.

This sounds like a perfect plan to me, but at this point it seems to require buying at least one SB Controller, which makes it harder to slip by the CFO.:-)

From the SB Receiver system requirements:

"Squeezbox Controller required for network setup"

Ben Sandee
2008-01-09, 16:24
On Jan 9, 2008 3:55 PM, mkt <
mkt.32xvhz1199916001 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> This sounds like a perfect plan to me, but at this point it seems to
> require buying at least one SB Controller, which makes it harder to
> slip by the CFO.:-)
>
> From the SB Receiver system requirements:
>
> "Squeezbox Controller required for network setup"


This has been discussed almost ad-nauseum in other threads. It's extremely
likely that there will be an 'unofficial' (community-driven) way to perform
the network setup, eliminating the need for the SBC if that's what you want.

I really wish this caveat could be removed from the specs "officially" just
so that we could stop having to point people in the right direction every
time someone points out the limitation because I think it's been mentioned
at least a dozen times.

I have to wonder if some marketroid somewhere thinks that they'll force the
less technically savvy user to get the Duet bundle, but keep the community
uproar down to a minimum by allowing the SBR to work standalone using
unsupported means.

Ben

studley
2008-01-09, 19:50
I'm curious about the rational behind removing the display from the new receiver. I understand that the controller now does all the display work, but can't see how this removes the need for a display on the receiver itself. The controller provides a great interface for selecting and browsing music, but I find the Squeezebox's display invaluable for actually seeing what is being played. With multi-room audio, this is especially an issue, as you get the possibility of one room's audio being programmed from somewhere completely different. Without a display on the receiver, how do people in the room know what they're listening to?

Max

I, for instance, have a SqueezeBox in my media cabinet which drives music to speakers throughout the house. No one ever sees it. It simply sits there in the dark connected to the amp (looking all sad and lonely, I imagine). No need for a display there.

Cheers, David

max.spicer
2008-01-10, 02:03
> I'm curious about the rational behind removing the display from the new
> receiver.

Because users have been asking for this kind of device.

Good rationale. I was assuming that the "products with display line" (i.e. the SB3, at the moment) was going to be withdrawn. If they coexist, then I can see it makes sense.

Thanks,

Max

m1abrams
2008-01-10, 07:03
This sounds like a perfect plan to me, but at this point it seems to require buying at least one SB Controller, which makes it harder to slip by the CFO.:-)

From the SB Receiver system requirements:

"Squeezbox Controller required for network setup"

While this may not be required in the future, it will only require 1. Which I personally like the SB controller specifically for a multiroom setup. Now I wont have more than 1 though.

bigfool1956
2008-01-10, 08:09
Lately I've been having a problem with the now playing display on my turntable. It seems that after all these years my eyes are struggling to focus on text that rotates through 360 every 2 seconds.

studley
2008-01-10, 08:24
Lately I've been having a problem with the now playing display on my turntable. It seems that after all these years my eyes are struggling to focus on text that rotates through 360 every 2 seconds.

Have you tried slowing it down to something like 33 RPM? 8)

David