PDA

View Full Version : Creating and managing playlists

bvitale
2008-01-07, 19:23
I'm fairly new to the Squeezebox, and I'm trying to sort out the best way to create a suite of playlists that I can use for parties or just lounging around the house. I have a large collection (120gb+) of mostly MP3 albums (some singles). They are sorted into directories (a, b, c, d, etc.) by artist.

My main problem is using the web interface to create play lists. It seems very clunky for this task. Here are a few reasons why.

1) Navigation to the search box is tedious. The "quick search" box on the "My Music" page is difficult to use because I have to move my mouse horizontally along the "Search Music" space until I reach the search box. Maybe a search bar, in its own frame, at the top of the page would work better (?).

2) Navigating paginated data is not intuitive. For example, if I browse by Album, there are a lot of results. The current navigation forces me to click the itty bitty links that are associated with each letter; this becomes really tedious. When I page through web results, I like to see "Previous" and "Next" links (>> and << or similar). I also like to see a consistent number of items per page, like 10 or whatever.

3) Latency hurts. This is nothing critical of the software; I think its just the reality of using a web application over a wireless network. The SlimServer box is hardwired into the LAN but I'm using a laptop over wireless to hit it. Going back to the browsing of Albums, if a particular letter has several hundred albums associated with it, the page can take a few seconds to load.

4) The "Add to Playlist" button is SO TINY! It's like a precision job to make sure that I add the song to the play list and not accidentally play it (which erases the entire list).