PDA

View Full Version : Server upgrade advice request

gazjones59
2008-01-06, 11:29
Hi everyone, and a Happy New Year.

I have been using and enjoying my SB3 for a few months now - generally it was all very straightforward to set up and almost entirely trouble-free when streaming from either of my two music libraries. I have, however, had a few gremlins whilst streaming from internet radio (I am a Live365 subscriber) - I occasionally get the 'Connection Timed Out' message and the feed stops. I have to assume that this is some kind of SlimServer issue as if I connect up using my Live 365 desktop player and stream (via Airfoil) to an Airport Express, it all works fine & dandy.

Perusing the forum posts reveals a few others with this issue, but little in the way of definitive answers. I think the best way forward is to install the latest version of SlimServer (SqueezeCenter) - which finally brings me to my question!

Visiting the download page for release 7.0 presents a rather Techy file listing with not much I can find in the way of help. Could someone please provide a step-by-step guide to replacing my current installation (6.5.4) with the new one? I am no stranger to this sort of malarkey but would appreciate some guidance on this one. Apologies if I've missed a link to a help page somewhere.

Of course, if you feel this is not the most sensible course of action, please feel free to suggest one.

Many Thanks in advance.

SophieB
2008-01-06, 16:44
Hi there-
I am just getting up to speed and can't wait to have digital access to our CDs and Pandora over our home stereo system. I love this forum and if I were only a little more tech savvy, I might have been able to figure this out but I have been searching on it for a while and I decided it is time to ask for help. Here is our situation. We have: