PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver doesn't find new music & playlists



killick
2008-01-01, 13:41
SlimServer Version: 6.5.4 - 12568 - Debian - EN - utf8
Server IP address: 192.168.1.9
Perl Version: 5.8.8 i486-linux-gnu-thread-multi
MySQL Version: 5.0.21-standard

I start Slimserver myself-- it's not launched automatically on start.

I'm running Ubuntu 7.10. My music is on a second internal HD mounted /mnt/disk2/.

I just ripped 15 CDs and copied the files in the usual place, /mnt/disk2/audiofiles/<artist>/<album>/<song.mp3> and I put the <artist-album.m3u> files in /mnt/disk2/audiofiles/ as usual.

I rescanned my whole directory and found none of it. If I browse New Music, everything is there and will play.

I ran

killick@killick-workstation:/mnt/disk2$ chomd -R 777 audiofiles

and now every file and folder is rwxrwxrwx. I rescanned and found none of it unless I browse the Music Folder.

Does anyone know how to get Slimserver to take notice of this newly added music? While we're at it, I have some playlists that don't work anymore. Someone suggested in another threatd that this was an ownership issue, but didn't elaborate. Could these issues be related? Thanks in advance!

-- Killick

Mark Miksis
2008-01-01, 16:36
killick@killick-workstation:/mnt/disk2$ chomd -R 777 audiofiles

I assume this is a typo only in your forum post, not from when you actually ran the command? chomd -> chmod


Does anyone know how to get Slimserver to take notice of this newly added music?

Any clues in the log file?

killick
2008-01-02, 14:11
Yes, Fletch, chomd was a typo.

After start-up I saw this in the log. What's interesting to me is that arie_india is one of the new CDs I added to this server. I don't understand what it says here, but the fact that this is one of the files that don't show up makes it interesting. Here's the log:

2008-01-02 15:36:02.8227 Got /mnt/disk2/audiofiles/arie__india/voyage_to_india/05_the_truth.mp3 from file url file:///mnt/disk2/audiofiles/arie__india/voyage_to_india/05_the_truth.mp3
2008-01-02 15:36:02.8230 extracted: /mnt/disk2/audiofiles/arie__india/voyage_to_india/05_the_truth.mp3 from file:///mnt/disk2/audiofiles/arie__india/voyage_to_india/05_the_truth.mp3
2008-01-02 15:36:12.0305 cracked: http://192.168.1.9:9000/home.html?player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99 with [192.168.1.9],[9000],[/home.html?player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99]
2008-01-02 15:36:23.3309 cracked: http://192.168.1.9:9000/setup.html?page=BASIC_SERVER_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99 with [192.168.1.9],[9000],[/setup.html?page=BASIC_SERVER_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99]
2008-01-02 15:50:33.4526 cracked: http://192.168.1.9:9000/home.html?player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99 with [192.168.1.9],[9000],[/home.html?player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99]
2008-01-02 15:50:39.4134 cracked: http://192.168.1.9:9000/setup.html?page=BASIC_SERVER_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99 with [192.168.1.9],[9000],[/setup.html?page=BASIC_SERVER_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99]

Does any of this provide a clue? I don't really understand what I'm looking at here, so any guidance is appreciated! Thanks.

-- Killick

Mark Miksis
2008-01-02, 14:58
None of those log entries are from the scanner. See what's added to the log when you do a rescan. I'm not sure what is logged by default, so you may have to enable d_scan debugging to get anything useful.

Also, the problem may be with the tags. It's possible that the new tracks are being scanned properly, but they're showing up under a different name or no name due to faulty tags.

killick
2008-01-03, 15:36
None of those log entries are from the scanner. See what's added to the log when you do a rescan. I'm not sure what is logged by default, so you may have to enable d_scan debugging to get anything useful.


OK, I set my debugging options (d_server, d_scan, d_path, d_playlist) and did a rescan, but I got very little in the log. Do you see a problem in it? Here it is.

-------begin log----------
2008-01-03 17:10:17.1823 cracked: http://192.168.1.9:9000/setup.html?page=DEBUGGING_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99&playerid= with [192.168.1.9],[9000],[/setup.html?page=DEBUGGING_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99&playerid=]
2008-01-03 17:10:23.0243 cracked: http://192.168.1.9:9000/setup.html?page=DEBUGGING_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99&playerid= with [192.168.1.9],[9000],[/setup.html?page=DEBUGGING_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99&playerid=]
2008-01-03 17:10:27.7906 cracked: http://192.168.1.9:9000/setup.html?page=DEBUGGING_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99&playerid= with [192.168.1.9],[9000],[/setup.html?page=DEBUGGING_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99&playerid=]
2008-01-03 17:10:33.5498 cracked: http://192.168.1.9:9000/setup.html?page=DEBUGGING_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99&playerid= with [192.168.1.9],[9000],[/setup.html?page=DEBUGGING_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99&playerid=]
2008-01-03 17:10:42.0588 cracked: http://192.168.1.9:9000/home.html?player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99 with [192.168.1.9],[9000],[/home.html?player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99]
2008-01-03 17:10:46.6751 cracked: http://192.168.1.9:9000/setup.html?page=BASIC_SERVER_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99 with [192.168.1.9],[9000],[/setup.html?page=BASIC_SERVER_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Ab3%3A99]
2008-01-03 17:10:46.6808 Setup::rescan - initiating scan of type: [wipecache]
2008-01-03 17:10:46.8334 modifyPlaylistCallback: savecurrsong is 1
2008-01-03 17:10:46.8337 modifyPlaylistCallback: finding client playlist for: [00:04:20:05:b3:99]
2008-01-03 17:10:46.8546 modifyPlaylistCallback: calling setTracks()
-----------end log-----------------



Also, the problem may be with the tags. It's possible that the new tracks are being scanned properly, but they're showing up under a different name or no name due to faulty tags.

Hmmm. I just looked at the new music tag information and according to Amarok, these songs aren't tagged at all. I think I just found the problem. Amarok has a "fill in tags with Music Brainz" option. Anyone tried this?

Thanks for your help, Fletch, and to anyone else who joins in!

-- Killick

thing-fish
2008-01-04, 12:55
Hmmm. I just looked at the new music tag information and according to Amarok, these songs aren't tagged at all. I think I just found the problem. Amarok has a "fill in tags with Music Brainz" option. Anyone tried this?

I definitely think you found the issue! I wanted to chime in and say that while I don't use Amarok, I do use Music Brainz for tagging (through their Picard application and through MusicIP Mixer). I highly recommend it.

jawtech
2008-01-06, 05:16
Greetings all,

Thought i would post here as this is the thread that finally lead me to the solution to my problem.

I was also having problems getting slimserver to detect my music files, but first a little backgroud.

System is a suse 10.1 x86 with oes2.
mp3 files are on a drive in NTFS format.

I was able to install slimserver from RPM and use the startup scripts to make it start at runtime etc.

The squeezebox connected without problems.

Web interface for slimserver works, detects and controls player, & allows me to set my music folder.
When i hit scan, it says scanning for a second but finds nothing.

After reading this thread i checked and AmaroK was not installed, so I installed it with smart installer.

While amaroK was scanning my mp3s on first startup (It detected them) i tried slimserver thru the web interface again. Still detects nothing.

I decided to look for my log files as others had done.

I went to /usr/local/slimserver to poke around and noticed scanner.pl

Checked types.conf for mp3 and it was there.

Decided to try running scanner.pl from command line to see what happens and when executed without options it gave me a nice list of available ones.

I Chose:

./scanner.pl --force --rescan --progress --d_info --d_scan /mnt/MP3

Terminal window displayed progress as it actually indexed everything.

So in then end i don't think i needed to install amarok but don't really mind and it may have helped, but have you tried the scanner from the command line?

Cheers, Jaw

tongsan
2008-02-23, 09:01
I'm having trouble with scanner.exe never shutting down and am getting lots of these "cracked: http...[etc] in my log files.

As Killick says: "I don't really understand what I'm looking at here, so any guidance is appreciated! Thanks.-- Killick[/QUOTE]

For example:
Reading firmware version file: C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Firmware\squeezebox2.versi on
squeezebox2 firmware is up-to-date, v. 81
Reading firmware version file: C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Firmware\squeezebox2.versi on
squeezebox2 firmware is up-to-date, v. 81
Reading firmware version file: C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Firmware\squeezebox2.versi on
squeezebox2 firmware is up-to-date, v. 81
Reading firmware version file: C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Firmware\squeezebox2.versi on
squeezebox2 firmware is up-to-date, v. 81
Reading firmware version file: C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Firmware\squeezebox2.versi on
squeezebox2 firmware is up-to-date, v. 81
cracked: http://127.0.0.1:9000/setup.html?page=DEBUGGING_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A07%3A79%3Ae8 with [127.0.0.1],[9000],[/setup.html?page=DEBUGGING_SETTINGS&player=00%3A04%3A20%3A07%3A79%3Ae8]

thanks for any help anybody can give--

tongsan
2008-02-23, 09:02
Maybe I should specify in that previous post that I'm running Win XP?