PDA

View Full Version : Organizing Music --Could use some help and advice

lreinstein
2008-01-01, 09:54
I am using Fishbone skin on the web interface for slimserver 6.5.4

I am also using ITUNES with my Ipod. I am trying to figure out the best way to Tag and organize my music library. I am planning to re-rip all of my CD's in Apple Lossless...I understand that there are advantages to FLAC but want to keep things simple for myself...especially since i intend to continue synching to my IPOD.

I could use some advice... keeping in mind that I am a newbie to most of this and want to keep it all very simple and easy.

Some of my questions---

- When I click BROWSE I get a list of Albums with an alphabetical index. Thus clicking B gives me all of my B albums. IS there a way to get a complete list that I can scroll...not just limited to a single letter?

- The Beginner Wiki suggests for Classical music to put the name of the artist/composer at the beginning of the Album title. such as Beethoven--Fifth symphony. Is this a good idea for pop music as well? Would it help to have artist name before title of his/her album? Such as Beatles-- Abbey Road as the Album Title for Abbey Road.

- I am not sure what to do about Genre assignments. I do not want to assign multiple Genre's since iTunes/Ipod i believe does not support it. So for example, would one put Norah Jones as Vocal, as Pop, or ???? Is there some wisdom that you could share?

- And again, I am not sure about the best and simplest way to make use of the playlist features.

Thanks for your patience.

Larry

ceejay
2008-01-01, 11:20
- When I click BROWSE I get a list of Albums with an alphabetical index. Thus clicking B gives me all of my B albums. IS there a way to get a complete list that I can scroll...not just limited to a single letter?

You could try specifying a longer page length, though it will slow up the interface. Server Settings - Interface - Items Per Page.