PDA

View Full Version : Ports 1900 and/or 9335



Meatwad650
2007-12-30, 07:19
I'm pretty sure that slimserver doesn't use port 9335, but can anyone suggest what port 1900 would be for? I was trying to run Connect360, a program to stream audio and video to my Xbox360, on my Mac at the same time as I was running slimserver. It complained that one of the two ports was in use and sure enough I found a perl process talking to 1900 but I couldn't find any documentation about what slimserver would need port 1900 for.

I tried stopping slimserver, starting Connect360 - that worked. Then I started slimserver and it started without complaint and my sb3 seems to work normally.

So is there some reason slimserver needs port 1900 open? (And if anyone else is running Connect360 and SlimServer on a Mac with no problem let me know.)

Edit: Could it be something to do with UPnP? I saw this in the logs, but I'm not sure if it's normal:

2007-12-30 04:21:36.9652 UPnP: Failed to initialize multicast socket, disabling UPnP.

Meatwad650
2007-12-30, 21:12
Anyone know anything about this?

radish
2008-01-01, 20:15
1900/UDP is the uPnP discovery port (http://www.grc.com/port_1900.htm). There's an option (somewhere, I forget where!) to disable the uPnP functionality in slimserver, although as you have discovered it does no harm if it can't open the port.

Meatwad650
2008-01-02, 05:24
The only option I found was under network - to disable looking for other upnp servers. Is that the only setting?

radish
2008-01-02, 08:13
The only option I found was under network - to disable looking for other upnp servers. Is that the only setting?

I believe so. Slimserver isn't a uPnP server, it's a client, so it's only opening 1900 to look for servers.