PDA

View Full Version : SUGGESTION - Shuffle order text always large(r)...



NeilF
2007-12-29, 12:54
Only in one display mode, when you change the shuffle mode is it displayed in anything other than the smallest font, making it quite hard to see from a distance...

As the rest of the display is cleared anyway when displaying the shuffle mode (for a second or so), why not display it large(r)?

peter
2007-12-29, 23:19
NeilF wrote:
> Only in one display mode, when you change the shuffle mode is it
> displayed in anything other than the smallest font, making it quite
> hard to see from a distance...
>
> As the rest of the display is cleared anyway when displaying the
> shuffle mode (for a second or so), why not display it large?
>

Agreed, this annoys me also.

Of course the problem is worsened because there are three shuffle modes
(off, song, album). I for one would be in favor of making the available
shuffle options configurable, so I could disable the 'album' mode which
I personally never use. A 3-way toggle is much harder to keep track of
than a 2-way.

Regards,
Peter

kdf
2007-12-30, 02:12
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2478
-kdf

NeilF
2007-12-30, 05:57
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2478
-kdf

Cheers... Do you just put that common.pl file somewhere and that's it?

kdf
2008-01-01, 06:02
On 30-Dec-07, at 4:57 AM, NeilF wrote:

>
> kdf;252616 Wrote:
>> http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2478
>> -kdf
>
> Cheers... Do you just put that common.pl file somewhere and that's it?
>
patch -p0 < patchfile.diff

if you don't have patch, then you have to find the filenames shown (in
this case, Buttons/Common.pm and Player/Player.pm, remove all - lines
replacing them with the + lines.

then restart the server. This won't work if you are using the windows
application or service.

-kdf

NeilF
2008-01-01, 06:52
This won't work if you are using the windows
application or service.

-kdf

Ummm... Not sure what you mean by that... I'm using Slimserver on XP Pro!? Or do you mean some other application?

kdf
2008-01-01, 06:58
On 1-Jan-08, at 5:52 AM, NeilF wrote:

>
> kdf;253122 Wrote:
>> This won't work if you are using the windows
>> application or service.
>>
>> -kdf
>
> Ummm... Not sure what you mean by that... I'm using Slimserver on XP
> Pro!? Or do you mean some other application?

It means you are out of luck until the patch is merged into a
nightly build.
The SC/SS application is pre-packaged, so any edits to core modules
have no effect on windows unless you use the slimserver.pl script with
ActivePerl installed

-kdf

NeilF
2008-01-01, 10:20
On 1-Jan-08, at 5:52 AM, NeilF wrote:

>
> kdf;253122 Wrote:
>> This won't work if you are using the windows
>> application or service.
>>
>> -kdf
>
> Ummm... Not sure what you mean by that... I'm using Slimserver on XP
> Pro!? Or do you mean some other application?

It means you are out of luck until the patch is merged into a
nightly build.
The SC/SS application is pre-packaged, so any edits to core modules
have no effect on windows unless you use the slimserver.pl script with
ActivePerl installed

-kdf

Surely this is the case for the majority of people? ie: Surely most people use slimserver on Windows?

aubuti
2008-01-01, 10:35
Surely this is the case for the majority of people? ie: Surely most people use slimserver on Windows?
I wouldn't be so certain about that (and stop calling me Shirley...). See these forum polls:
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=33301
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=34738
Of course, all the usual caveats apply re self-selection, non-random samples, non-response bias, etc.

Also, as kdf says, you *can* apply the patch in Windows. Just install ActivePerl on your PC, apply the patch, and run slimserver via slimserver.pl rather than via the Windows exe file. Or wait for it to be merged into the executable.

kdf
2008-01-01, 12:58
On 1-Jan-08, at 9:20 AM, NeilF wrote:

>
> Surely this is the case for the majority of people? ie: Surely most
> people use slimserver on Windows?

Yes, but that doesn't matter. Windows users have nightly builds and
can use ActivePerl if they really feel the need
Windows users are never left out, don't worry.
-kdf

NeilF
2008-01-05, 14:42
On 1-Jan-08, at 9:20 AM, NeilF wrote:

>
> Surely this is the case for the majority of people? ie: Surely most
> people use slimserver on Windows?

Yes, but that doesn't matter. Windows users have nightly builds and
can use ActivePerl if they really feel the need
Windows users are never left out, don't worry.
-kdf

So I can download a slimserver.exe update now? With that mod in?

peterw
2008-01-05, 20:20
Only in one display mode, when you change the shuffle mode is it displayed in anything other than the smallest font, making it quite hard to see from a distance...

As the rest of the display is cleared anyway when displaying the shuffle mode (for a second or so), why not display it large(r)?

Two plugins you should check out are my StatusFirst plugin, and Michael Herger's Music Info Screensaver.

StatusFirst makes it so the first time you press Shuffle, Repeat, or Sleep, you'll see the *current* status in large text. Sure, if you press the button again (within a few seconds) to change the mode, you'll see the small text.
http://www.tux.org/~peterw/slim/StatusFirst.html

Music Info Screensaver is an *excellent* When Playing screensaver. It has nice icons that display the current Repeat and Shuffle modes. Highly recommended in place of the normal Now Playing screensaver.

-Peter