PDA

View Full Version : A better player for slimserver??

lreinstein
2007-12-29, 07:48
I am a newbie to the SB3. In the past i was using iTunes with airport express.

What I notice is that the Slimserver web based software is not quite as easy to use or as capable as itunes. Using my windows PC, with slimserver I can not monitor the timing or progress of the track, i can not easily type in a few letters of a composer or artist and get a view of all songs by the artist etc.

Can I operate the Squeezebox/slimserver using a different Windows based player that would be more similar to what iTunes offers?

or perhaps i am not using slimserver properly.

thanks

Larry

davep
2007-12-29, 09:24
I am a newbie to the SB3. In the past i was using iTunes with airport express.

What I notice is that the Slimserver web based software is not quite as easy to use or as capable as itunes. Using my windows PC, with slimserver I can not monitor the timing or progress of the track, i can not easily type in a few letters of a composer or artist and get a view of all songs by the artist etc.

Can I operate the Squeezebox/slimserver using a different Windows based player that would be more similar to what iTunes offers?

or perhaps i am not using slimserver properly.

thanks

Larry

A couple of suggestions for your requests - 1. try the Fishbone skin (I assume you are running a variant of the Slimserver 6.5 release rather than the 7.0 beta). This gives a progress bar for the track now playing. The slimfx skin might also be of interest.

2. For a listing of all songs by a particular artist you just select the artist in the web interface and click on All Songs.

3. There is an alternative interface under windows - Moose. I haven't looked at this for some time but it might be interesting to you.