PDA

View Full Version : OT: need a power conditioner?



ob_kook
2007-12-24, 22:01
Hey all, I'm having some issues with alternating light pink and green bands scrolling horizontally on my plasma screen, and after doing a bit of online research, I believe I have tracked this problem down to the cable feed with many suggesting that it is likely a ground loop and might clear up with the use of a power conditioner.

I have not used power conditioners in the past, but I've seen them around by Monster, Belkin, APC and others, from $30 to about $3000 and even higher.

I was wondering if anyone here uses these products and has any experiences they could share. I would prefer to stay within a budget of $200-$300 if possible.

Thanks!

Kook

Mnyb
2007-12-24, 23:20
I've had ground loops with tv before ? there are is isolation transformer for the coax cable, that worked for me.

Power conditioner's do they break ground loops ? I have doubt's more research is needed.

SuperQ
2007-12-25, 00:11
First thing I would do is goto a hardware store and grab an outlet tester and verify that all the outlets on that circuit are wired properly. Then test for AC/DC voltage across the ground of your coax to earth ground on your outlet.

http://www.acehardware.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2665480

Finding the source of the ground loop is lots cheaper, and better for your equipment than simply throwing money at an isolator.

toby10
2007-12-25, 05:21
As others have said you definitely want to find and fix the actual problem, not just throw a band-aid on it.

Just to verify (and eliminate other potential sources of the problem) does the problem occur with two different input types? i.e. It happens on both DVD and sat/cable feeds? With only that video source connected to the plasma? Sat/cable feed is completely disconnected from tv while testing DVD input, vise versa?

With that said, fixed or not, here are excellent power conditioners specifically designed for flat panel displays. I use one each on my two plasmas. Very slim, easily concealed, within your budget and one of the top names in power conditioning & power purification.

http://www.furmansound.com/product.php?div=04&id=AC-210E

mswlogo
2007-12-25, 09:11
Hey all, I'm having some issues with alternating light pink and green bands scrolling horizontally on my plasma screen, and after doing a bit of online research, I believe I have tracked this problem down to the cable feed with many suggesting that it is likely a ground loop and might clear up with the use of a power conditioner.

I have not used power conditioners in the past, but I've seen them around by Monster, Belkin, APC and others, from $30 to about $3000 and even higher.

I was wondering if anyone here uses these products and has any experiences they could share. I would prefer to stay within a budget of $200-$300 if possible.

Thanks!

Kook

Like mentioned if it is indeed a ground loop (very common with cable) then a $5.00 isolation transformer will solve it.

Try disconnecting cable from the system and play a DVD or some other video source. If the lines are gone that's your problem.

A power conditioner is NOT the solution for ground loops.

ob_kook
2007-12-25, 14:56
Great info from everyone - I knew this forum would deilver!

Based on these answers I've also done a little more reading up on the topic and much better understand the issue now. I'll do a bot more troubleshooting to isolate the problem and try to optimize the setup in terms of the way things are connected.

xio
2007-12-25, 15:18
Do the cables have ferrite cores on them? I installed a plasma a few years back and it looked great until I changed the mains cable (I needed a longer one to bury in the wall). Picture quality took a big dive - can't remember the exact symptoms. A ferrite core on either end of the mains cable fixed it completely and at nominal cost.