PDA

View Full Version : Problems playing / newbie

magnuslar
2007-12-22, 02:18
Hi!

I am a newbie here, attempting to install slimserver on an Ubuntu Gutsy machine to act as music server on my home Lan. It is installed as ubuntu package, version 6.3.0-5. It is up and running, and I can connect via web interface at localhost:9000, where I have set my music library etc. It shows a player on the right hand side of the browser window as well, where I can add songs by clicking on them in the left hand side list.

However, I get no, or bad, sound. There is no sound from the web-browser player (should there be?). I have tried to connect amarok and xmms to http://localhost:9000/stream.mp3, and get sound when the browser player is also playing, but it is jumpy and bad (even though on the same machine, so not due to network issues). What is wrong?

And is this really the way that I have to operate slimserver: first fill in the playlist in the browser, then set the browser player to play, then set the external player to play?

Grateful for any help. Please indicate what other information I could provide or checks to perform.

Magnus L

davep
2007-12-22, 08:28
Hi!

I am a newbie here, attempting to install slimserver on an Ubuntu Gutsy machine to act as music server on my home Lan. It is installed as ubuntu package, version 6.3.0-5. It is up and running, and I can connect via web interface at localhost:9000, where I have set my music library etc. It shows a player on the right hand side of the browser window as well, where I can add songs by clicking on them in the left hand side list.

However, I get no, or bad, sound. There is no sound from the web-browser player (should there be?). I have tried to connect amarok and xmms to http://localhost:9000/stream.mp3, and get sound when the browser player is also playing, but it is jumpy and bad (even though on the same machine, so not due to network issues). What is wrong?