PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade SuSE 10.1 to 10.3



ppmoore
2007-12-20, 06:01
Hello,

I've been running slimserver on SuSE 10.1 for a while now and it works great. I decided to upgrade to 10.3 because the suspend/WOL wasn't working on the HP machine, and I noticed that there is a newer version of Kpowersave available. I did an upgrade install from the openSuse DVD. On the first reboot, the system hangs on the line "Setting up service network: done".

I've since read that the 10.1 to 10.3 was a major distribution change, and that a fresh install would have been better. If I do this without reformatting the partition, will slimserver still be available, or would I have to completely reinstall slimserver, alienBBC, etc?

Or, if a fresh install would remove slimserver, can I revert back to 10.1, without affecting slimserver?

Can anyone advise what to do?
Paul

jimflanagan
2007-12-21, 12:02
ppmoore wrote:
> Hello,
>
> I've been running slimserver on SuSE 10.1 for a while now and it works
> great. I decided to upgrade to 10.3 because the suspend/WOL wasn't
> working on the HP machine, and I noticed that there is a newer version
> of Kpowersave available. I did an upgrade install from the openSuse
> DVD. On the first reboot, the system hangs on the line "Setting up
> service network: done".
>
> I've since read that the 10.1 to 10.3 was a major distribution change,
> and that a fresh install would have been better. If I do this without
> reformatting the partition, will slimserver still be available, or
> would I have to completely reinstall slimserver, alienBBC, etc?
>
> Or, if a fresh install would remove slimserver, can I revert back to
> 10.1, without affecting slimserver?
>
> Can anyone advise what to do?
> Paul
>
>
>
If you upgrade from 10.1 to 10.3 slimserver SHOULD still be available to
run, but I've never done an upgrade. If you do a fresh install of 10.3
on a different partition than 10.1, you can then install slimserver on
10.3. The opensuse 10.3 installer should detect your existing 10.1
install and make a line item in grub so you can then boot into one or
the other. Slimserver will still run fine in 10.1 in that case. I did
install slimserver on a new 10.3 install and it works fine. You just
have to point it to your music and playlists files. (I'm assuming you
have your music files on a different partition than your 10.1 install.
If it is on the same partition, don't wipe out your 10.1 install or that
will wipe out your music).

If things do get screwed up, you can always run slimserver off of the
slimCD. This is a free download and it boots off a CD that you will
burn. That works fine too, but you will have to point it to your music
files each time you boot. This is a good option if you want to run
slimserver temporarily on a messed up box, or from a lightweight
slimserver only box.

When you install slimserver on opensuse 10.3, the startup script for
10.2 (from the slimdevices support site) works well, but remember to set
the script as "executable".

Good luck.

Jim F

ppmoore
2007-12-22, 07:14
Thanks for the reply, Jim.

All my music files are on a different partition, so changing the 10.1 installation partition would not be a problem.

My question was: if I install 10.3 onto my existing 10.1 partition without first formatting the partition, will the slimserver installation still be available? I would suppose that the installation should only update the files it needs to change without affecting the other files.

Paul

jimflanagan
2007-12-22, 13:10
ppmoore wrote:
> Thanks for the reply, Jim.
>
> All my music files are on a different partition, so changing the 10.1
> installation partition would not be a problem.
>
> My question was: if I install 10.3 onto my existing 10.1 partition
> without first formatting the partition, will the slimserver
> installation still be available? I would suppose that the installation
> should only update the files it needs to change without affecting the
> other files.
>
> Paul
>
>
>
If you are asking that if you "upgrade" from 10.1 to 10.3 on the same
partition, I think slimserver will still be OK, but I have never done
this. If on the other hand you do a "clean install" of 10.3 over your
10.1 partition, that will wipe out your 10.1 install and you will have a
fresh clean 10.3 install.

Jim F