PDA

View Full Version : Problem: Lost contact with Slim Server



SoundOfMind
2007-12-15, 18:55
I searched for previous posts but couldn't find an answer.

I have been successfully running Win XP with 3 SB3's for over a year and now none of them work. When the connection process gets to connecting to my fixed server address, the display goes blank. By the way, one of them is wired.

I really don't think networking is the problem. If I run SoftSqueeze on the localhost, it fails too. Slim Server 6.5.4 is running. I even tried setting all the permissions as required for Vista to no avail.

Any ideas??

Thanks

SoundOfMind
2007-12-16, 11:46
Bump Bump Bump

snarlydwarf
2007-12-16, 12:14
It sounds like networking to me, specifically firewalls.

Yes, even localhost can be firewalled from talking to itself.

Looked at your firewall logs?

SoundOfMind
2007-12-17, 00:08
I looked where the firewall log should reside and there wasn't a file there.

I tried disabling the XP firewall and running Soft Squeeze on localhost still fails. The text display for Soft Squeeze flashes. What other tests can I try to isolate the problem?

By the way, the only change I made recently (besides 6.5.2 to 6.5.4) was adding the Super Time Date screensaver - it has been removed now, but the docs stated that there was a memory leak in it.

It looks like my problem may be similar to http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=41103

SlimServer Version: 6.5.4
Server IP address: 192.168.1.10 (fixed)
SB3 IP address: 192.168.1.101 (DHCP) wired. Other two are wireless and will work if wired one does.
Running on WIN XP SP2 with the latest updates - EN - cp1252.

NOD32 2.7 antivirus - if it has a firewall, I can't find it. From what I understand, earlier versions of SlimServer had to have socketwrapper.exe excluded for AlienBBC to run - I don't use it.

Linksys WRT-54G version 6 router with 1.02.2 firmware (most recent)

JJZolx
2007-12-17, 00:26
You mention both XP and Vista. Did you move SlimServer from a computer running XP to one running Vista?

Or do you mean it just stopped working with no changes to either the network or to the computer running SlimServer?

SoundOfMind
2007-12-17, 01:38
I just set the XP firewall to the recommendations of
http://slimdevices.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/slimdevices.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=6026&p_created=1168559680&p_sid=zMgARpTi&p_accessibility=0&p_redirect=&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9MiwyJnBfcHJvZHM9JnBfY2F0cz0mcF9wdj0mcF9 jdj0mcF9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD12aXN0YQ**&p_li=&p_topview=1
(support FAQ 6026) as an act of desperation.

I don't know when I'll want to try Vista.

I did change from 6.5.2 to 6.5.4 and added the SuperDateTime plugin. All worked well for a few days and then all went dark.

JJZolx
2007-12-17, 09:24
I just set the XP firewall to the recommendations of
http://slimdevices.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/slimdevices.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=6026&p_created=1168559680&p_sid=zMgARpTi&p_accessibility=0&p_redirect=&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9MiwyJnBfcHJvZHM9JnBfY2F0cz0mcF9wdj0mcF9 jdj0mcF9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD12aXN0YQ**&p_li=&p_topview=1
(support FAQ 6026) as an act of desperation.

I don't know when I'll want to try Vista.

I did change from 6.5.2 to 6.5.4 and added the SuperDateTime plugin. All worked well for a few days and then all went dark.

Completely disable all firewalls to test whether or not it's a firewall issue. Once you're sure that is or is not, then you can work from there.

haunyack
2007-12-17, 09:38
Completely disable all firewalls.

After that, kill any AV/FW related process via XP Task Manager.
Some Firewall/Anti-virus programs persist despite your best effort to disable.

.

SoundOfMind
2007-12-18, 22:42
I uninstalled 6.5.4 and installed 6.5.2 and it works perfectly. I am going to let it run for a few days to ensure that all is stable. If pressing "Click here to download" to update to 6.5.4 within slim server messes me up again, then I will have something more meaningful to report.

The problem had nothing to do with firewall, network or anti virus settings.

haunyack
2007-12-18, 23:13
Happy listening!

.

geir
2007-12-19, 05:17
I have the exact same problems, tried 6.5.1/6.5.4./7 and nothing works, just gettting the "trying to connect.."
If anyone could provide a link to where to download 6.5.2 so I could try that one as well I would be grateful.

Mark Lanctot
2007-12-19, 07:22
http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/

geir
2007-12-19, 07:56
Will give it a shot this afternoon.