PDA

View Full Version : Connecting SqueezeBox via Digital or Analog?



Oliver Cookson
2004-01-27, 05:26
Thanks to all the responses I have got a much better idea of what I need relative to cost now.

Thanks

-----Original Message-----
From: Andrew Lucas [mailto:alucas1966 (AT) hotmail (DOT) com]
Sent: 27 January 2004 12:14
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Connecting SqueezeBox via Digital or Analog?





>From: "Colin Burn-Murdoch" <colin (AT) aranion (DOT) com>
>Reply-To: Slim Devices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>Subject: [slim] Connecting SqueezeBox via Digital or Analog?
>Date: Tue, 27 Jan 2004 11:51:59 +0000
>
> > Is the sound quality better if I connect my SqueezeBox to the
> > digital in's of a amp? (or does this depend on the quality of the
> > "digital to analogue" converter in the amp?)
> >
> > Or does it work equally as well via phono?
>
>You're probably better getting a good amp, and using good
>interconnects,
>than settling for an amp you can find with a digital in... I'd spend £20
>- 30 on interconnects. Check here for a selection:
>http://www.richersounds.com/index.php?f=itemlist.php&c=1601
>


Its all down to how much you want to pay...
With low cost receivers the squeeze is probably better.
With expensive receivers or a good standalone DAC, the digital out will be
the one to use.