PDA

View Full Version : Too low volune level



raphael.cotty
2007-11-24, 05:59
Hi,
Some of my internet radios have a very low volume level. So even with the volume at "100" I don't get much volume to my amplifier.
For example this radio "http://www.radio404.org:8000/" never gives more than 4 bars on the volume display.

Best regards
Raphael

cgull
2007-11-24, 07:04
This is where an external DAC with gain control can come in handy. I don't have one but am using Inguz which also has gain control but it's a bit cumbersome.

Mark Lanctot
2007-11-24, 08:16
Internet radio volume level is dictated by the stream provider - best contact them.

raphael.cotty
2007-11-24, 10:15
Of the 7 radio stations I listened to, only one uses the full dynamic. The other 6 never go higher than the 4th bar out of 12.
This is a problem for me because I use a JBL self powered satellite speaker that does not provide volume control.
What is missing is a control of the stream volume·
Beside I don't think that I can convince those 6 radios to change their streaming volume.

sapnho
2007-12-14, 08:21
I have the opposite problem: Squeezebox + Benchmark DAC1 + B&O "Organ-pipes" results in that the lowest possible volume is still to loud. Can this be changed somewhere on the SB?

Mark Lanctot
2007-12-17, 21:00
I have the opposite problem: Squeezebox + Benchmark DAC1 + B&O "Organ-pipes" results in that the lowest possible volume is still to loud. Can this be changed somewhere on the SB?

SlimServer Player Settings - Audio - Preamp Volume Control.

sapnho
2007-12-17, 22:09
Great! Thanks!