PDA

View Full Version : Slim Server is not feeding unicode chinese to squeeze box



ismewor
2007-11-23, 16:58
Hi,
I just updated the Slim Server to 6.5.4-12568- Linux EN utf8 within Netgear ReadyNAS
I can view the Chinese Char within web slim server, however when view from squeeze box it only display english puiyin and not chinese char which display from the slim server.

This work when i use 6.5.4-12568-XP EN-CP950 in my XP box.

Is there any different or what setting i can change the display being sent to squeeze box from this linux version of slim server.

Thanks,
Adrian

Infrant
2007-11-26, 12:39
Adrian,

Did you load the unicode Font AddOn?

Infrant
2007-11-26, 20:35
Located here:

http://www.infrant.com/download/addons/SlimServer_FontPack_0.1

ismewor
2007-11-26, 23:06
Hi,
Thanks for the info and file. but how can i add those into the NAS?
Please let me know or point me to the instruction page please.

Thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2007-11-27, 00:20
Hi,
I installed the package. and now i can see chinese in unicode in now playing only. when i browse through network it show garbage. it use to be able to show pinyin. is there anything that i missed?

thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2007-11-27, 00:32
Just to be exact is the folder i couldn't see not the ID3 Tags. how can i switch folder to be unicode?

Thanks,
Adrian

Infrant
2007-11-27, 11:32
Did you set the ReadyNAS under "languages" to "Chinese-Unicode"?

When you view the folder name on your computer, does it show properly?

ismewor
2007-11-30, 15:41
I tried to switch to chinese traditional but now is english, i will switch that over again and see.
The folder view prefectly in Winxp.

Thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2007-12-01, 00:13
Yes, i switch to traditional chinese on system lang. but still no luck, any other suggestion?

ismewor
2007-12-01, 11:06
Traditional chinese folder name display correctly on WinXP SlimServer but just not on the Softsqueeze 3.4 folder browse.

Infrant
2007-12-03, 12:46
Did you reboot when after you changed the language setting?

Thanks,
Sam

ismewor
2007-12-03, 23:10
yes, i did, because it ask to reboot after the update.

Thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2007-12-03, 23:21
SB Still won't able to see the folder in Chinese.
Any other suggestion? have this been tested?

Thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2007-12-23, 02:35
Hi,
I still having problem seeing the folder in unicode in the NAS Infrant. Can someone point me to the right direction please.

Thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2008-02-05, 01:57
Hi,
Is there anymore netgear or Infrant support to help solve this problem. I saw SSOD has solve the same problem. Can i get some help please.

Thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2008-02-05, 01:58
Here is the link http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=30401&highlight=readynas+chinese
Thanks flip flip step up and help, i wish netgear and infrant can do the same.

Infrant
2008-02-05, 11:01
I've forwarded this thread to another engineer... will see what we can do.

r2-d2
2008-02-05, 17:27
ismewor,

We at Infrant confirm your problem.

If you convert all your library to AAC (iTunes can do it for you). But I guess you don't like this solution. Anyway, let me see if we can put fix in RAIDiator-4.01c1.

r2-d2
2008-02-05, 19:20
Hi,

I made patch and uploaded it.

http://www.infrant.com/download/Fix_SS6540_Encoding_0.1.bin

I have tested this with our latest public beta (RAIDiator-4.01b1-T68) which includes SlimServer 6.5.4.0.

Please use local update above patch to ReadyNAS.
Make sure FrontView's System/Language page selects Chinese-Simplified.

Let me know your resul if you have chance to try.

Thanks,
/r2-d2@infrant

ismewor
2008-02-06, 01:22
Thanks for the quick follow up.
My tags are all in Traditional Chinese change i change front view to that.
also i use itune to rip the CD to apple lossless and will give the upload a try.

Thanks,
adrian

ismewor
2008-02-06, 02:06
I just DL your batch and upload with front view. nothing happen. still couldn't see any traditional chinese in folder or AAC loseless either.

I have RAIDiator 4.00c1-p1 [1.00a037] do i need to install the public beta also.

I would like to know what the batch suppose to do.
i have the front view system lang in traditional chinese

Thanks,
Adrian

r2-d2
2008-02-06, 11:36
Actually I tested using Simplified Chinese. But logic should be the same. The patch I uploaded works as below.

- Check if ID3 is in Valid Encoding of NAS' locale. If your NAS set to "Chinese - Traditional", it assumes CP950. And translate it into UTF8.
- Otherwise it check treated as CP1250 or UTF8. (I need to check order of preferences.)

AAC file only contains Unicode so there shouldn't be Encoding issue. Let me check again.

r2-d2
2008-02-06, 14:45
Hmm... I tested AAC (.mp4) file and ok. Because AAC file does not have encoding issue, it should work. Unfortunately I and my co-workers does not have mp3 with it's ID3 tag in Tranditional Chinese. (They have MP3 files with Unicoded ID3 in Tranditional Chinese, and those files worked fine.)

4.00c1-p1 should be the same. Can you make sure following?

- SlimeServer 6.5.4.0 installed
- After SS instaled/update, you need to install FontPack.
- FrontView Language is Chinese-Traditional
- Then "Clear library and rescan everything" from SS management page.

ismewor
2008-02-07, 02:29
SS Ver 6.5.4-12568-Linux-EN-utf8
I use this font pack : SlimServer fontpack_0.1
Front view is Chinese traditional
I'm trying to clear our the cache and re scan it.
will post soon.

Thanks,
Adrian

r2-d2
2008-02-07, 09:18
Ok. I hope it works after clear and rescan everything.
Encoding conversion is done only scan time, and create libarary in all unicode.

Thanks,
/r2-d2@Infrant

ismewor
2008-02-07, 09:50
I checked again this morning after 12hrs of rescan i believe but result are the same.

question i have. how do you know it start rescan?
i can send you 1 of my m4a in traditional chinese and you can test over at your end.

Thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2008-02-07, 09:54
I was in SS front view and select clear library and rescan everything from rescan music library then click rescan couple times again. and see what will happen, will post again tonight.

ismewor
2008-02-07, 10:05
After couple times of scanning SB3 and transpotor still can't read traditional chinese. Confirm it does recan complete because SS have a note once it scanning. without it once it doesn't show anymore.

I can email you the song file you can test it over at your end.
btw, SS show correctly. just SB3 and transpotor does not.

I have another readynas with RAIDiator V3.01c1-p6 i can try over that one as well if needed.

Thanks,
Adrian

r2-d2
2008-02-07, 20:04
Happy Chinese New Year! Are you cerebrating?

I wanted solve this issue before new year, but sorry I couldn't.

Anyway, thank you for testing with rescan. At this moment I want to test with your mp3 file in my environment. I'll send PM to let you know my email address.

Thanks for your patient.
/r2d2@infrant.

ismewor
2008-02-08, 01:53
Just PM you. the m4a file is 28mb too big for mail to send.
Please pm me the upload location for infrant.

thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2008-02-11, 19:23
Hi R2-D2,
Still waiting for your PM to where to submit the 28mb m4a file.
Or see if i can send you an mp3 with unicode encode.
Thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2008-02-12, 01:22
Hi,
Just emailed m4a file and mp3 file with unicode format.

thanks,
Adrian

ismewor
2008-02-13, 02:41
Any update?

r2-d2
2008-02-25, 18:15
In my environment, both mp3 and m4a files working fine with softsqueeze and squeezebox. Now I don't know what went wrong in your box.