PDA

View Full Version : SoftSqueeze Good, SqueezeSlave Bad



meep
2007-11-18, 07:30
I've started converting my CD library to FLAC.

I have SlimServer 6.5.4 set up on a Win 2003 Server, Dual 2.8 Xeon, 2GB Ram box with M-Audio Delta 410 sound card.

If I fire up SqueezeSlave (0.7.0) and play a FLAC file, I get a lot of digital interference; pops, splutters, pauses, stutter, micro-replays, skips etc.

If I launch SoftSqueeze and play the same track to the same audio device, all is well.

Now, I'd prefer not use SoftSqueeze as i want to run this as a multi-zone system with multiple headless soft instances and I don't want the Java overhead etc. that SoftSqueeze entails.

Anyone any idea why SqueezeSlave might be misbahaving?

Peter

pgtr
2009-01-23, 16:45
Hi

I'm having similar problems. All my music plays fine on SqueezePlay but I have some problems with Squeezeslave 0.8-25 running on Windows Vista. I'm running Squeezecenter 7.3.1 on a NAS.

None of my FLAC files play, it just stutters and skips throughout each song.
My MP3 files work ok, but when I skip tracks, there's always a slight hiccup/stutter noise before going to the next track which is a bit annoying.

Anyone know why please?
Thanks.

ralphy
2009-01-28, 05:27
Hi

I'm having similar problems. All my music plays fine on SqueezePlay but I have some problems with Squeezeslave 0.8-25 running on Windows Vista. I'm running Squeezecenter 7.3.1 on a NAS.

None of my FLAC files play, it just stutters and skips throughout each song.
My MP3 files work ok, but when I skip tracks, there's always a slight hiccup/stutter noise before going to the next track which is a bit annoying.

Anyone know why please?
Thanks.

I don't test squeezeslave on Vista, only XP.

Have you tried the previous version 0.8-12? If not, please do and report back.

If r12 has the same issues, I'll then get you to enable some of the debugging options.

What is the command line you're using to start squeezeslave?

thanks,

Ralphy