PDA

View Full Version : I can hear text scrolling on the display



mecouc
2007-11-16, 11:19
I've had an SB3 for ages, and I think it's always done this but I've never bothered to work out what's going on until today.

I can hear a quiet crackling from the speakers which is clearly caused by the squeezebox display updating: it's repetitive and in time with the scrolling speed. When the scrolling stops, so does the noise, and it continues again when the scrolling does. There are bursts of noise when I pause and restart music as the display changes.

It's quite quiet and not a killer problem, but it does annoy me a bit, particularly when playing quiet tracks quietly. I tried moving the SB away from the amp and that doesn't help.

Oddly, the noises don't get louder as I turn up the volume on the amp (with music paused). Indeed, when the volume gets to 50% the noises disappear altogether, though by then there is the beginnings of a slight background hum from the electronics (in normal listening the volume knob never goes much past 25% of the way round - maybe that indicates the amp and speakers are mismatched? Or maybe theyr'e just loud).

Any suggestions? Thanks..

It's an Arcam alpha 3 amplifier if that makes any difference, with Monitor Audio speakers with no model name or number visible.

JJZolx
2007-11-16, 11:55
Do you hear it if the display brightness is turned all the way down to off?

Do you hear it if you use a different screen saver that isn't constantly updated?

seanadams
2007-11-16, 12:10
I think it's actually coming from the 802.11 traffic, not the display. Can you test using ethernet?

mecouc
2007-11-16, 12:29
It's connected using homeplug, which should be effectively the same as ethernet..because it is once out of the homeplug adapter. But I can test with a cat-5 cable straight to the router.. I'll report back!

And I can't tell you how much I appreciate receiving help straight from the Big Boss.. thanks.

seanadams
2007-11-16, 14:13
It's connected using homeplug, which should be effectively the same as ethernet..because it is once out of the homeplug adapter. But I can test with a cat-5 cable straight to the router.. I'll report back!

And I can't tell you how much I appreciate receiving help straight from the Big Boss.. thanks.

Homeplug signalling is not at all like ethernet, but what's more significant here that it shares the same power line that also feeds your other equipment. Interestingly, this subject came up a few weeks ago and I argued why homeplug would be _unlikely_ to cause audible problems. We've not had a report of it before, but there's a first for everything.

It would be very interesting to find it can in fact be picked up by an amplifier. We've seen this with wireless, where headphone amps can pick up 802.11 signals from the air, using the headphone cable as an antenna - the audio amplifier chip can inadvertently act like a radio.