PDA

View Full Version : SB3 - analog or digital output into AV amp?

digitaria
2007-11-16, 07:35
Hello all. SB3 newbie here. My SB3 will be connected to a Sony STR-DB930 AV Receiver, so I have a choice of analog RCA outputs from the SB3 or digital optical output which the AV amp can then deal with.

I know I can do some testing to decide, but which, in your opinion, is likely to give better sound quality?

TIA

Fifer
2007-11-16, 08:09
Hello all. SB3 newbie here. My SB3 will be connected to a Sony STR-DB930 AV Receiver, so I have a choice of analog RCA outputs from the SB3 or digital optical output which the AV amp can then deal with.

I know I can do some testing to decide, but which, in your opinion, is likely to give better sound quality?

TIA

If the Sony has a direct analogue pathway (and doesn't put analogue signals through an ADC prior to digital processing) then it depends on the relative qualities of the DACs involved. Listen and see if you prefer the Sony's DAC (using the SB Digital out) or the SB's DAC (using the SB's analogue out).

If however, the Sony doesn't have a direct analogue pathway, using the analogue outputs of the SB3 will involve two DACS and an ADC in the signal path which will almost certainly sound inferior to having just one DAC using the SB digital outputs.

iPhone
2007-11-16, 09:08
I know I can do some testing to decide, but which, in your opinion, is likely to give better sound quality? TIA

Testing is probably your best choice. After all, only you are the one that has to like what you hear. Use whichever one sounds best to you.

I do have one thought, if you like 5-speaker stereo or using your DSP effects then going digital would be the proper choice. This path would allow for single conversion instead of multiple conversion.