PDA

View Full Version : Lavry DA 10 Crystal Lock

j.wales
2007-11-15, 18:46
After a few weeks of frustration from dealing with a "pausing" in my music and trying everything under the sun, I think I may have found the issue.

I called Lavry, and they told me that the SB3 was operating outside of the tolerances for the Lavry while it is in crystal lock mode and therefore the Lavry was cutting out the music and not the SB3. The fix, I was told, is to use the Lavry in wide mode.

Now I am not an engineer, but this seems reasonable. Any insight from other more technical oriented people - is this possible? and is it the SB3 not being consistent enough?

Has anyone else experienced this? If so, other fix suggestions?

seanadams
2007-11-15, 19:37
It's hard to say, not knowing exactly how Lavry's design works, but I know lots of people use SB3 with his DACS without issue. I suppose you could have a crystal physically out of tolerance (in either device). That's not something you can readily test without specialized equipment. Have you tried the DAC with other sources?

j.wales
2007-11-15, 20:00
I have not had a chance to test it with another component. I have tried to operate the Lavry in wide mode, and it has not had the issue for about an hour of listening. I plan to do a more in depth test either tomorrow evening or over the weekend, including with another source.

One thing I did do was plug headphones directly into the SB3 and let the digital signal go through the Lavry in Crystal. I had the headphones in one ear and listened to the stereo with the other. When the signal through the Lavry pausd, the headphone signal did not. This is what made me call Lavry. I thought I was going to have to send the Lavry back.

As an FYI, Lavry tech support said that they have had calls like this in the past, tech support new exactly what I was talking about, almost without me finishing. They also recommended that I test with another component to make sure.

KeithL
2007-11-15, 23:21