PDA

View Full Version : EAC rip directly to server



OiPenguin
2007-11-15, 14:12
I've set up Squeezebox with Slimserver on an Ubuntu Gutsy server. All work is done from my laptop (Gutsy desktop) including ripping to flac. I've used Sound Juicer to rip music via laptop to the server, however I'd like to use Exact Audio Copy. The program is installed and functioning well on Ubuntu thanks to Wine. The connection to server is currently ssh.

However, my key to happiness is a solution to make EAC rip directly to server? Is that possible?

I'd also like to rip into logical folders, i.e. "Beatles" --> "White Album". I've read that it's possible with REACT, but it appears complicated. Is this easyly achiveable on Ubuntu?

servies
2007-11-22, 08:46
If you're running samba on the server:
make the folder in which you keep your music available by samba
mount/map it on the client and let EAC write to this folder directly...
EAC options->directories
Use this directory: 'fill in the mount/mapped drive...
'

I'd also like to rip into logical folders, i.e. "Beatles" --> "White Album". I've read that it's possible with REACT, but it appears complicated. Is this easyly achiveable on Ubuntu?
EAC should be able to do the same...
Under options->filename
I use the following naming schedule for both options
%D\%C\%N - %T
If I copy a various artists CD each track I identify as:
'artist / songtitle'
the above gives me then a filename like (for a various artists album)
e:\mp3\Various Artists\Oorgasm 01\07 - Air - Le Soleil Est Pres De Moi.ogg
and
e:\mp3\Pink Floyd\Wish You Were Here\01 - Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Part I - V).ogg
for normal albums.
The only thing which could possibly cause a problem is network performance... Possibly the network can't keep up with EAC writing files...

signor_rossi
2007-11-23, 04:24
If you already use ssh just use fuse with sshfs and mount the remote directory to a local mount point.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=275856&highlight=sshfs+fuse+howto
Probably adding your user to fuse group suffices, changing permissions might not be needed anymore.

Bye, signor_rossi.

OiPenguin
2007-11-23, 14:29
I've installed samba, but I'm unable to mount the server-folder on the client. I get this error and troubleshooting haven't solved the problem.

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on //192.168.0.1/home/felles/Media/Musikk/Rippet,
missing codepage or helper program, or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so

The fuse/sshfs suggestion is attempted as well, however when I try

sudo sshfs username@IPorHOSTNAME:/remote/folder/to/mount /home/user/local/mountpoint I get an error saying "sshfs missing host" - This shouldn't be an IP issue since "ssh username@IPorHostname" works well.

Any suggestions? I'm very keen on a solution. I've ripped a lot of CDs with SoundJuicer, however I'm unable to rip 1 in 10 cD's. There appear to be no logic in this, the error message is "Sound Juicer could not extract this CD. Reason: Operation not permitted." I've not been able to found a solution to this problem, but I've confirmed that these CDs can be ripped successfully with EAC.

Yours,

Lars

signor_rossi
2007-11-23, 15:32
Just set up fuse and sshfs on my gutsy music-server and mounting a directory on my Arch-Linux laptop worked like a charm (normally I do things the other way around). These were the steps taken:
1. Installed fuse and sshfs
2. Added 'fuse' to /etc/modules and did a 'modprobe fuse' once
3. Added my user to the 'fuse' group and logged out and in again
4. Created a directory as local mount point
5. Mounted the remote directory with 'sshfs val@mylaptopip:/home/val /home/taco/tux/'
No sudo needed it seems and you unmount with 'fusermount -u /home/taco/tux' and you can also add a line like this to your /etc/fstab to not have always remember the remote path:
sshfs#taco@mylaptopip:/home/taco /home/val/media/taco_home fuse user,noauto 0 0

A quick googling turned up that this error may happen when the colon or/and the slash are missing in the ssh-server URL, something you didn't forget in your example, but maybe better check a second time in your actual command. ;)

Bye, signor_rossi.

OiPenguin
2007-11-24, 13:51
Thanks a lot signor_rossi!

I've managed to mount the relevant server folder on my laptop and it's accessible in EAC. I'm not sure it's a stable solution, but at least I know it's working and I'm confident that I'll be able to make the solution stable when I return to advice in previous posts.

Cheers,

Lars

OiPenguin
2007-11-24, 16:20
Unfortunately I'm not through with this. When trying to rip I get an error: "Error when creating file" (translated from Norwegian). When viewing the permissions on the folder I'd like to rip to owner is "1005" with permission "create and delete files" while group is "user" with "access" only. When viewing the directory with "sudo mc" it's displayed in red, which I believe is similar to 'not properly mounted'. I'm not able to chown. Any suggestions?

signor_rossi
2007-11-25, 03:50
Where did you create the local mount point? If not already done so create it in your home folder. Did you try transferring files in a file manager?
As for handling permissions I am still looking myself for a proper and a more granular way, since I always have to adjust them on the server after copying (give write access to the group on files).

Bye, signor_rossi.

OiPenguin
2007-11-25, 10:00
The directory was created in my local folder, /home/lars/rip_server and mounted successfully. I've not tried transferring files, only ripping directly to this location. I've tried to add the appropriate command to /etc/fstab to automount on boot, but I need to manually mount after reboot.

signor_rossi
2007-11-25, 10:51
I have the 'noauto' option in my line in fstab for sshfs, which means no automount on boot. ;)
And to be able to automount you would also have to work with keys, see here under 'Automating the Connection':
http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/8904
I have looked at the man page of sshfs and there it states that you can also use an umask option to specify permissions.
'sshfs user@myserverip:/media/music2 /home/val/media/user_home/ -o umask=007' mounts the remote directory with read-write-execute permissions for user and group. Creating a file in the local folder respects this umask
and on the server then group and owner are as expected for me for this file but group and owner and other permissions' are not.

Bye, signor_rossi.

OiPenguin
2007-11-25, 15:48
'sshfs user@myserverip:/media/music2 /home/val/media/user_home/ -o umask=007' mounts the remote directory with read-write-execute permissions for user and group.

This is really bugging me! I've managed to mount the server folder, but receives the previously reported error: "Error when creating file" (translated from Norwegian), however now despite the permissions being for owner: "1005" with permission "create and delete files" and group is "users" with "create and delete files" as well. I've addedd my username to group 'users'. I tried to connect with this exact command:

lars@LITE-U:~$ sshfs lars@192.168.1.2:/home/felles/Media/Musikk/Rippet /home/lars/Rippet/test3 -o umask=007 and

lars@LITE-U:~$ sshfs lars@192.168.1.2:/home/felles/Media/Musikk/Rippet /home/lars/Rippet/test3/ -o umask=007
(last code snippet with an addedd forward slash after .../test3)

I may have done some things during my attempts to set up an sshfs-connection. I should problably undo everything I've done and start all over again. What would be the essential parts?
- unload fuse module?
- remove my username from fuse group?
- Is there anything else which should be undone, does it make sense at all to undo what I've done?

Yours,

Lars

signor_rossi
2007-11-26, 01:33
What are the permissions on the directory '/home/felles/Media/Musikk/Rippet' (on the server)? What is the umask there? I am not that skilled as linux admin and really out of ideas now...
Certainly on a dedicated ubuntu forum there are more skilled people around, maybe ppost the problem there....

Bye, signor_rossi.

OiPenguin
2007-11-26, 12:02
What are the permissions on the directory '/home/felles/Media/Musikk/Rippet' (on the server)? What is the umask there? I am not that skilled as linux admin and really out of ideas now...

The permissions are 777. I'm afraid I can't tell what umask is set to be (how do I find out?). I know I've changed umask previously, I believe to 777, but when I look in the folder the majority of folders are 755, while a few are 777. Why some have different permissions I really cannot explain at all. These are all ripped with Sound Juicer.


Certainly on a dedicated ubuntu forum there are more skilled people around, maybe ppost the problem there....
I should probably try an Ubuntu Forum, however I've gotten first class help at forums.slimdevices and regard this issue as rather narrow and would have expected it to drown in the Ubuntu forum.

It's rather obvious to me that my lack of linux skills make things complicated. I keep doing changes, but don't have appropriate control over the consequences. I used to have a working Torrent Flux, but it's not working anymore. Another permission issue as far as I can tell ;-)

signor_rossi
2007-11-26, 12:39
Permission issues annoy me highly from time to time too. :(
755 are the default permissions set in /etc/profile with an umask of 022 here for me in Arch and Kubuntu (probably the case for most other distros too). 777 permissions where probably set by yourself manually.
I have found a way today to apply default rwx permissions on file and directory creation in a certain directory without changing the system wide umask for my user using ACLs. I have this working locally on my Kubuntu box. But it seems that when I mount this directory from my Arch laptop via sshfs these settings are ignored. Go figure!! ;)
Gonna going to troubleshoot this now...
EDIT:No need for troubleshooting, sshfs doesn't support ACLs yet. I am not at fault this time. ;)

Bye, signor_rossi.

OiPenguin
2007-11-28, 14:44
Ciao signor_rossi,

I can now rip directly to server via the sshfs-connection. I've changed owner:group, permissions to 777 (will try 755 again) and altered umask as well. It is functioning with EAC and Sound Juicer. The latter program uses 1/3 of the time ripping to flac compared to EAC so I'll stick to that.

The current status is that I have three identical "temp" sshfs-connections, named /home/lars/Rippet/test2, .../test3, .../test4

I've not investigated properly, but I'll ask anyway in case you or someone else knows the answers straight off:
a) can I rename either of these with the usual F2, like any other folder?
b) how do I remove the extra sshfs-connections. Don't need three identical ones. One will do ;-)
c) if I delete (Move to trash is usually not an option on my server) test1, ..2 or ..3, do I loose the content within this folder on the server as well?

You've been of great help!

Cheers,

Lars

Mark Lanctot
2007-11-29, 07:59
It is functioning with EAC and Sound Juicer. The latter program uses 1/3 of the time ripping to flac compared to EAC so I'll stick to that.

Wondering why? Maybe EAC is more rigorous in its checks as to how things are done?

I've tried Sound Juicer. It's one of those freebies that are included in Ubuntu. It gives no indication that I could see if it's encountering errors.

Ripping in Linux is the one area where I really regret switching from Windows. I'm using RubyRipper - it's better in that it logs problem areas but it's no EAC - it will often "think" it's corrected an area where it clearly hasn't. At least it will log problem areas. My main beef with it is that I have a couple of rips with big errors where it didn't report any errors at all. :-(

OiPenguin
2007-12-02, 06:46
Wondering why? Maybe EAC is more rigorous in its checks as to how things are done?

I've tried Sound Juicer. It's one of those freebies that are included in Ubuntu. It gives no indication that I could see if it's encountering errors.


EAC is no doubt more thorough than Sound Juicer, and I've come across some files with flaws after you mentioned the lacking logs in Sound Juicer. Apart from no logging, the program is great.


Ripping in Linux is the one area where I really regret switching from Windows. I'm using RubyRipper - it's better in that it logs problem areas but it's no EAC - it will often "think" it's corrected an area where it clearly hasn't. At least it will log problem areas. My main beef with it is that I have a couple of rips with big errors where it didn't report any errors at all. :-(

This thread should be enough to set up EAC in Ubuntu with the help of Wine. It works well for me now.

Yours,

Lars

Ron F.
2007-12-12, 07:35
I have EAC installed on my Ubuntu Gutsy laptop, and it works so perfectly under wine, it looks like a native Linux application. It is not very fast however. I also have dBpoweramp installed, and it is much faster when doing a secure rip. Despite being faster dBpoweramp does not run as cleanly under wine as EAC. It has problems ejecting CDs, (although upgrading wine to version 0.9.50 seems to help,) and it has a problem being minimized on my machine. Turning off desktop window management in wine specifically for dBpoweramp helps with that.

-Ron