PDA

View Full Version : Suddenly web interface "gone"...



Zevs
2007-11-14, 12:24
Hi!

Suddenly today I wasn't able to connect with my Squeezebox so I checked the computer. The little icon was on in the taskbar, but I know that doesn't always mean the server is running. But when clicking on this icon as I usually do to check if Slimserver is running, instead of the usual interface opening up in Firefox I got the message:

Firefox can't find the file at:

/C:/ProgramData/SlimServer/home.html?player=00:04:20:06:74:70.

I reinstalled Slimserver, restared the computer but still get the same message. However, if I then just used the address http://127.0.0.1:9000/ in the browser, everything worked just fine! So anyone understand what happend, why suddenly can't I open the interface as I have always done previously ?

Grateful for advice or help!
Zevs

Ross L
2007-11-14, 12:42
Please take a look at C:\program files\slimserver\SlimServer web interface.url, take a look at the properties of this file. The URL should read: http://127.0.0.1:9000

mherger
2007-11-14, 12:43
> I reinstalled Slimserver, restared the computer but still get the same
> message. However, if I then just used the address
> http://127.0.0.1:9000/ in the browser, everything worked just fine! So
> anyone understand what happend, why suddenly can't I open the
> interface as I have always done previously ?

What version are you running? Did you recently change your installation?

Michael

Zevs
2007-11-14, 20:21
Please take a look at C:\program files\slimserver\SlimServer web interface.url, take a look at the properties of this file. The URL should read: http://127.0.0.1:9000

Thanks Ross, but how do I do this, I don't see anything in the properties of that url file that relate to an http address ...?

Zevs

Zevs
2007-11-14, 20:28
> I reinstalled Slimserver, restared the computer but still get the same
> message. However, if I then just used the address
> http://127.0.0.1:9000/ in the browser, everything worked just fine! So
> anyone understand what happend, why suddenly can't I open the
> interface as I have always done previously ?

What version are you running? Did you recently change your installation?

Michael

Hi Michael! I am running version 6.5.4 and everything worked fine the day before, but suddenly yesterday I got this message whatever I did. I then tried to reinstall Slimserver, the same version, but still get the same message, every time I try "Open Slimserver" from the tray icon. Except for when I noticed this problem suddenly, I haven't re-installed or done anything lately with Slimserver, it has been running nicely as expected and I use it regularly every day.

Zevs

Zevs
2007-11-14, 21:26
Hi again!

Well ... when looking at the properties of the SlimServer Web Interface face file I noticed it was set to open in Firefox which sounded OK since I use Firefox all the time. However I noticed that in the address field in Firefox it seemed it couldn't correctly parse the file name, putting "%20" instead of " ". So then I did go back to the properties of the file and changed the program to open it with to Explorer instead. Then when I clicked on it, it anyhow opened up in Firefox and this time to the correct address without any problem. Go figure... no idea what happend and why this strange behavior.... Sorry for long explanation, the short message is it works fine now again :)

Zevs