PDA

View Full Version : Mac Mini - going to sleep

unclepuncle
2007-11-13, 14:41
I've just sorted out a Mac Mini to use as my slimserver music server which I want switched on 24/7 (rather than use my main PC which is noisy and power hungry).

Everything has gone ok and it is now serving my two SB3's perfectly as I type this.

However, it seems to go into some sort of sleep mode if left inactive for any length of time (I don't have any mouse, keyboard or monitor plugged in) and I have to use the power button on the back of it to wake it up. Once I press this it comes back to life and my SB3's can then find slimserver almost straight away.

Is it possible to stop this 'sleep mode' so that it stays on permanently. I've never used a Mac before this arrived yesterday so excuse my ignorance.

qirex
2007-11-13, 15:07
I'm doing this from memory but there is a prefs pane in System Preferences > Energy Saver where you can set the sleep settings.

googdot
2007-11-14, 12:36
That's correct - sleep settings are in System Preferences - Energy Saver.

I have the same setup and my mini has been running as a dedicated server box 24/7 for well over a year and half now. The machine is headless and I control the settings updates, etc. via VNC from my other mac.

An alternative would be to setup Wake on LAN as that works fine as well if you do in fact want your mini to sleep when idle.

PM me if you need any specific details - happy to help get it setup :)

KeithL
2007-11-14, 14:12
Are you running your mini-mac wirelessly? If so you will not be able to WOL, wake on lan. You need to go into system preferences as mentioned above to disable sleep.
Keith

googdot
2007-11-14, 14:21
Hi Keith,

thanks - forgot to mention that WOL only works on a wired connection :)

cheers
frank

sugarmonster
2007-11-15, 12:43
As the other posters have said, there's a setting in system preferences that lets you choose the length of time before the mac sleeps.