PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox updating firmware ALL THE DAMN TIME



LikeButtah
2007-11-06, 19:27
Hey forum friends,

For whatever reason my squeezebox insists on having its firmware updated every time I change source computers. This is rather bothersome, as I'm sure that after 1500 updates in the past few days that the firmware is thoroughly up to date.

What gives?

Thanks in advance!!!!

kdf
2007-11-06, 19:41
On 6-Nov-07, at 6:27 PM, LikeButtah wrote:

>
> Hey forum friends,
>
> For whatever reason my squeezebox insists on having its firmware
> updated every time I change source computers.

I assume that you are running different server versions on the source
computers.
If you do that, you will get firmware update notices as the firmware
is included with the server
and is often tied to server features. firmware "upgrade" is thus, in
reality, a firmware "sync" to
the firmware intended to run with the version of slimserver.

There are hacks you can do, but you risk running into some odd issues
if you use firmware that doesn't match.
-kdf

JJZolx
2007-11-06, 19:43
For whatever reason my squeezebox insists on having its firmware updated every time I change source computers. This is rather bothersome, as I'm sure that after 1500 updates in the past few days that the firmware is thoroughly up to date.

You've changed source computers 1500 times in the last few days?

Anyway... What's going on is that if you're running more than one SlimServer computer, they probably have different versions of the server software. And the different versions of the server software must have different versions of the firmware. Make sure the same version of SlimServer is running on all the computers you connect to.

LikeButtah
2007-11-06, 20:01
So I have a tendency to exaggerate, big whoop, wanna fight about it?

:D

But seriously folks, thanks for replying so quick. I'll check the version thing out posthaste!

pfarrell
2007-11-06, 20:08
LikeButtah wrote:
> So I have a tendency to exaggerate, big whoop, wanna fight about it?

My sainted father said:
I told you a million times, never exaggerate.

He said it so often, it wasn't clear if he was still exaggerating.

haunyack
2007-11-06, 20:34
My sainted father said... never exaggerate.


Mine as well although he would make an exception when it came time to "find a switch".
Usually not exaggerated enough, therefore the session would be exaggerated.

[-)

.

Russell
2007-11-06, 20:40
Congratulations. Welcome to the SB world. The SB world isn't simple, it is
fraught with dangers, you are well advised to go out and buy a multi-CD
player, and leave "the box" to the techies.

Russ
----- Original Message -----
From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Tuesday, November 06, 2007 9:41 PM
Subject: Re: [slim] Squeezebox updating firmware ALL THE DAMN TIME


>
> On 6-Nov-07, at 6:27 PM, LikeButtah wrote:
>
>>
>> Hey forum friends,
>>
>> For whatever reason my squeezebox insists on having its firmware
>> updated every time I change source computers.
>
> I assume that you are running different server versions on the source
> computers.
> If you do that, you will get firmware update notices as the firmware
> is included with the server
> and is often tied to server features. firmware "upgrade" is thus, in
> reality, a firmware "sync" to
> the firmware intended to run with the version of slimserver.
>
> There are hacks you can do, but you risk running into some odd issues
> if you use firmware that doesn't match.
> -kdf
>

seanadams
2007-11-06, 21:31
Congratulations. Welcome to the SB world. The SB world isn't simple, it is
fraught with dangers, you are well advised to go out and buy a multi-CD
player, and leave "the box" to the techies.

Russ

Surely only a techie would be running _multiple_ home music servers? I believe Squeezebox is quite easy for non-techies, though of course there's plenty of room for improvement.

I guess it depends on your definition of "techie", but in my experience it is the techies who encounter the corner cases which are harder for us to make easy. That much is acknowledged, but if you want to argue the case that SB is hard for beginners, this is not the best example.

JJZolx
2007-11-06, 21:35
Surely only a techie would be running _multiple_ home music servers?

Considering how many people have requested the ability to have multiple libraries, I don't think this is at all true. I'm pretty certain that many non-techies are running multiple servers.

haunyack
2007-11-06, 21:37
Congratulations. Welcome to the SB world. The SB world isn't simple, it is
fraught with dangers, you are well advised to go out and buy a multi-CD
player, and leave "the box" to the techies.

Russ


There are a multitude of users that find the SB/TP an acceptable alternative to the standard (read obsolete) source.
Don't be discouraged by nay-sayers.
It's time well spent.

.

peter
2007-11-06, 23:34
JJZolx wrote:
> seanadams;240815 Wrote:
>
>> Surely only a techie would be running _multiple_ home music servers?
>>
>
> Considering how many people have requested the ability to have multiple
> libraries, I don't think this is at all true. I'm pretty certain that
> many non-techies are running multiple servers.
>

Most of them are probably confusing clients with servers, which seems to
be the main cause of SB problems...

Regards,
Peter

LikeButtah
2007-11-07, 18:50
Posted by Russ:

Congratulations. Welcome to the SB world. The SB world isn't simple, it is
fraught with dangers, you are well advised to go out and buy a multi-CD
player, and leave "the box" to the techies.


I'm not sure whether to be offended by this or to take it lightly. I'm more of an audiophile than a 'techie.' So I don't spend my day thinking about networking, big whoop, wanna fight about it?