PDA

View Full Version : Incorrect time...



MrC
2007-11-05, 19:49
Daylight saving time ended for us on 11/4, but Jive is still one hour ahead. Our SB3s show the correct time.

I didn't notice a way to reset the time; I restarted the remote, but the time is still 1 hour too late.

How does one change the time ?

MrC

rtitmuss
2007-11-06, 01:50
It should sync the time from SqueezeCenter when you connect to a player. At the moment Jive won't cope with daylight savings, see Bugs 5426 and 5874.

MrC
2007-11-06, 09:51
Ok, thanks.

Unfortunately, even with r796 and now r813, we're still seeing the dreaded no players problem. This must be why the time didn't sync too.

snarlydwarf
2007-11-06, 09:58
Lately I've had to have it re-find my wireless network after upgrading. Not sure why (I did take it into work to play with it from work just to be weird... but they turned off the unsecured wireless router that I used to use... boo!) [And, no, that network isn't mine... i'd kill someone if they put an unsecured router on my network.]

rtitmuss
2007-11-06, 10:31
we're still seeing the dreaded no players problem. This must be why the time didn't sync too.

Sorry I've not really been following this problem. Have you, or can you:


Try restarting SC, do your players show up on Jive then?
Check the network settings (Settings > Controller Settings > Wireless Network > your SSID) on Jive and make sure that is is connected to your wireless network ok. Can you ping Jive from your SC using the IP address shown?
Enable network.cometd debug in SC and post the log when you turn on Jive.


Thanks,
Richard

MrC
2007-11-06, 11:39
Richard,

1) Restarted SC. Players are still absent on Jive. Restart Jive - players are still absent.

2) Jive is not connecting to the network upon boot. It successfully connects to the network when I force it via Wireless network->SSID->Connect to network. It was able to download and update firmware (it has updated to r821 twice today); ping after connect works fine.

3) I've set net.comet to debug (and also discovered this cannot be done from jive). The only logging is during the disconnect:



[10:33:49.4815] Slim::Web::Cometd::sendHTTPResponse (628) Sending Cometd chunk:
[{"data":{"version":"7.0","info total albums":"1190","info total artists":"1835","info total genres"
:"65","info total songs":"13562","player count":2,"players_loop":[{"playerid":"00:04:20:06:24:ae","i
p":"192.168.2.4:45671","name":"Squeezebox Den","model":"squeezebox2","power":0,"displaytype":"graphi
c-320x32","canpoweroff":1,"connected":1},{"playerid":"00:04:20:06:3e:07","ip":"192.168.2.3:32517","n
ame":"Squeezebox Craftroom","model":"squeezebox2","power":"1","displaytype":"graphic-320x32","canpow
eroff":1,"connected":1}]},"id":"1","channel":"/1f1a0eef/slim/serverstatus","ext":{"priority":""}}]
[10:33:54.1319] Slim::Web::Cometd::requestCallback (768) requestCallback got results for /1f1a0eef/s
lim/playerstatus/00:04:20:06:3e:07 / 3
[10:33:54.1324] Slim::Web::Cometd::Manager::deliver_events (200) Sending event on channel /1f1a0eef/
slim/playerstatus/00:04:20:06:3e:07 to 1f1a0eef
[10:33:54.1340] Slim::Web::Cometd::Manager::deliver_events (213) Delivering events to 1f1a0eef:
[
{
channel => "/1f1a0eef/slim/playerstatus/00:04:20:06:3e:07",
data => {
# tied Tie::IxHash
base => {
actions => {
go => {
cmd => ["songinfo"],
itemsParams => "params",
params => { menu => "nowhere" },
},
},
window => { titleStyle => "album" },
},
count => 0,
"mixer volume" => 18,
mode => "stop",
player_connected => 1,
player_name => "Squeezebox Craftroom",
"playlist repeat" => 0,
"playlist shuffle" => 0,
playlist_tracks => 0,
power => 1,
signalstrength => 99,
},
ext => { priority => "" },
id => 3,
},
]
[10:33:54.1360] Slim::Web::Cometd::sendHTTPResponse (628) Sending Cometd chunk:
[{"data":{"player_name":"Squeezebox Craftroom","player_connected":1,"power":1,"signalstrength":99,"m
ode":"stop","mixer volume":18,"playlist repeat":0,"playlist shuffle":0,"playlist_tracks":0,"count":0
,"base":{"actions":{"go":{"params":{"menu":"nowhere"},"itemsParams":"params","cmd":["songinfo"]}},"w
indow":{"titleStyle":"album"}}},"id":"3","channel":"/1f1a0eef/slim/playerstatus/00:04:20:06:3e:07","
ext":{"priority":""}}]
[10:34:08.8011] Slim::Web::Cometd::webCloseHandler (819) Lost connection from 192.168.2.6:51113, cli
d: 1f1a0eef, transport: streaming
[10:34:08.8016] Slim::Web::Cometd::Manager::remove_connection (63) remove_connection: 1f1a0eef
[10:34:18.8169] Slim::Web::Cometd::disconnectClient (866) Disconnect for 1f1a0eef, removing subscrip
tions
[10:34:18.8176] Slim::Web::Cometd::disconnectClient (871) Unregistered all auto-execute requests for
client 1f1a0eef
[10:34:18.8182] Slim::Web::Cometd::Manager::remove_channels (133) remove_channels for 1f1a0eef: (?-x
ism:^/1f1a0eef/)
[10:34:18.8185] Slim::Web::Cometd::Manager::remove_client (88) remove_client: 1f1a0eef


There is no log output upon startup, as the unit is not connecting. After connect, the players are seen again, and there is plenty of debug output.

So, it appears that a) Jive is not connecting automatically upon startup, and b) once it loses the network connection, it cannot automatically re-establish the connection.

MrC

rtitmuss
2007-11-06, 13:19
So, it appears that a) Jive is not connecting automatically upon startup, and b) once it loses the network connection, it cannot automatically re-establish the connection.

Well that's not right. When you reboot Jive what does the wireless strength icon look like? What do you see in the Wireless Networks menu, do any of the networks have a note symbol next to them (it should be a tick but I'm waiting on the graphics!).

What SSID, wireless encryption and router are you using?

Thanks,
Richard

snarlydwarf
2007-11-06, 13:28
FWIW, I have seen the same non-connection the past few days (since the kernel upgrade). If I manually connect, it works fine and seems to stay working.

I'm using a cheapo Belkin router (which has been told to be an AP since it sucks as a router), with WPA. Once connected it's all fine... it just seems to not be trying to reconnect since the kernel update, so maybe something amiss in the startup scripts?

MrC
2007-11-06, 14:06
Well that's not right.
I hope you mean "shouldn't be happening" as opposed to "your observations are incorrect". ;-)


When you reboot Jive what does the wireless strength icon look like? What do you see in the Wireless Networks menu, do any of the networks have a note symbol next to them (it should be a tick but I'm waiting on the graphics!).

Its red - no connection.


What SSID, wireless encryption and router are you using?

Thanks,
Richard
Router : belkin pre-n, wpa, annecap-and-mikecap

MrC

rtitmuss
2007-11-06, 16:55
I am a little confused to what's gone wrong, and it will be tricky getting the debug without the network connection. I don't suppose anyone who is seeming this bug has a serial dongle? If so that debug from the serial console during boot would be most useful.

Thanks,
Richard

MrC
2007-11-06, 19:32
I don't have a serial dongle. If others do not see this problem, and you need assistance debugging, send one my way and I'll do what you need.

MrC

rtitmuss
2007-11-09, 03:04
Can you try the latest firmware, all the logging should now go to /var/log/messages so we can see problems/errors after the fact. Try:

1. Upgrade to latest nightly
2. Reboot and confirm that Jive does not connect to your network
3. Manually connect to your network and enable SSH
4. Use scp (or an SD card) to copy from jive /var/log/messages, and all files in /etc.

You may want to PM or email me the files as your wireless key will be included in them.

Cheers,
Richard

MrC
2007-11-09, 11:43
Can you try the latest firmware, all the logging should now go to /var/log/messages so we can see problems/errors after the fact. Try:

1. Upgrade to latest nightly
done (svn 14554); firmware was updated to r844.



2. Reboot and confirm that Jive does not connect to your network
Confirmed the first time. I restarted Jive, and this time the network icon is white, and shows connected.

Now, however, two problems have occurred: a) no players appear under Choose Player, so I try b) after a +key battery reinsert and re-entering all appropriate info, the players are found. After restarting Jive once again, I'm stuck on a screen that shows the recently connected player's name, but there are no menus, and no buttons navigate anywhere. Restarting Jive once again, brings me back to (a), which is where I am now. No players.

This is like pushing on a rope. :-)

How should we proceed?
MrC

MrC
2007-11-09, 12:19
I turned off Jive for about 30 minutes. Turned it back on, and now the players exist. I select a player. All is functioning. Restart Jive, Players are now gone again.

rtitmuss
2007-11-09, 15:02
Can you please send me the /var/log/message file showing an example of when it does not connect. Thanks.

MrC
2007-11-09, 15:29
Yes, of course. Just as soon as a I can make it happen again.

MrC