PDA

View Full Version : id3 tag version in database?



Peter
2004-01-23, 04:12
Hi

I have seen inconsistencies in my database id3 information, and couldn't
understand how this happened. Manually checking the individual mp3 files
showed correct info.

Then it dawned on me - there are multiple id3 version tags embedded, and
I had to clear the id3 v1 to be able to consistently use v2 features.
What version info does Slimserver look for, and what does slimserv
record if there are inconsistencies between different version info in
same file? Is this behavior modifiable?

best,
peter
stockholm

dean
2004-01-23, 09:32
SlimServer tries to use all the information it can find, but the ID3v2
data will override the ID3v1 data.

On Jan 23, 2004, at 3:12 AM, Peter wrote:

> Hi
>
> I have seen inconsistencies in my database id3 information, and
> couldn't understand how this happened. Manually checking the
> individual mp3 files showed correct info.
>
> Then it dawned on me - there are multiple id3 version tags embedded,
> and I had to clear the id3 v1 to be able to consistently use v2
> features. What version info does Slimserver look for, and what does
> slimserv record if there are inconsistencies between different version
> info in same file? Is this behavior modifiable?
>
> best,
> peter
> stockholm
>

Nathan Pitman
2004-01-23, 09:35
Not something I really want to admit to, but I have some t.A.T.u. tracks in
my music folder, the folder 't.A.T.u.' appears on my SLIMP3 as 't.A.T'...
which is odd, but fair enough I suppose, anyone know of a fix?

// Nathan Pitman - www.nathanpitman.com

dean
2004-01-23, 09:55
Ah, that's probably due to the fact that we try to hide file suffixes
whenever possible, and that it thinks that the .u. is a suffix.

You can adjust the display settings to show the file name with
extension, but this will affect the song files as well.

-dean



On Jan 23, 2004, at 8:35 AM, Nathan Pitman wrote:

> Not something I really want to admit to, but I have some t.A.T.u.
> tracks in
> my music folder, the folder 't.A.T.u.' appears on my SLIMP3 as
> 't.A.T'...
> which is odd, but fair enough I suppose, anyone know of a fix?
>
> // Nathan Pitman - www.nathanpitman.com
>
>
>