PDA

View Full Version : Going from 6.5.4 to SC7



booguss
2007-11-05, 05:08
Hi!

Silly question, maybe?

I haven't really found anything about how to move from SS to SC...

Right now I have SS 6.5.4 installed, but I like to try SC. Shall I uninstall, remove SS first? Or can I just run the .exe that I've downloaded so that it installs itself over the 6.5.4?

Anything else important to keep in mind when updating?

Cheers!

/boo

mherger
2007-11-05, 05:29
> uninstall, remove SS first? Or can I just run the .exe that I've
> downloaded so that it installs itself over the 6.5.4?

The SC7 installer will uninstall SS6 after having migrated its settings. Thus just go ahead and run the executable.

> Anything else important to keep in mind when updating?

It's always a good idea to have a backup before you run any installation.

Michael

ceejay
2007-11-05, 06:33
Anything else important to keep in mind when updating?



You'll also need to get SC7-compatible versions of any plugins you might be using.

Ceejay

grifforama
2007-11-05, 09:40
Hi, I would also like to try 7, what is the best way to backup on a mac ?

booguss
2007-11-06, 02:40
Thanks guys!

It's up and running now :-)


Then, when I want to update to a latest nightly release, I just have to download the latest .exe and execute, right?

cheers!

/boo