PDA

View Full Version : Music skipping



mik63
2007-11-03, 14:07
since I have changed the IP address to a fixed one and not managed by the DHCP my SB3 started to work.

a couple of times a got a skip.

this is incomprehensible to me; it should use TCP/IP and this guarantees that the packets of data are always received in the right sequence. you should have the music stopping if the buffer is not full (not my problem), but when it restarts it should pick up form where it left.
The skipping is something I just do not understand !

When it skipped my Network health looked like this:

The server is currently collecting performance statistics for this player.

You may set warning thresholds for each measurement. Events which exceed this threshold will be logged to a log file. The log is stored at: C:\Program Files\SqueezeCenter\server\Logs\perfmon.log
Signal Strength
This graph shows the strength of the wireless signal received by your player. Higher signal strength is better. The player reports signal strength while it is playing.

< 10 : 0 : 0%
< 20 : 0 : 0%
< 30 : 0 : 0%
< 40 : 0 : 0%
< 50 : 0 : 0%
< 60 : 0 : 0%
< 70 : 0 : 0%
< 80 : 1172 : 10% #####
< 90 : 8173 : 72% ####################################
< 100 : 1973 : 17% ########
>=100 : 0 : 0%
max : 94.000000
min : 70.000000
avg : 83.845467

Warning Thresholds : Low High
Buffer Fullness
This graph shows the fill of the player's buffer. Higher buffer fullness is better. Note the buffer is only filled while the player is playing tracks.

Squeezebox1 uses a small buffer and it is expected to stay full while playing. If this value drops to 0 it will result in audio dropouts. This is likely to be due to network problems.

Squeezebox2/3 uses a large buffer. This drains to 0 at the end of each track and then refills for the next track. You should only be concerned if the buffer fill is not high for the majority of the time a track is playing.

Playing remote streams can lead to low buffer fill as the player needs to wait for data from the remote server. This is not a cause for concern.

< 10 : 331 : 3% #
< 20 : 44 : 0%
< 30 : 63 : 1%
< 40 : 42 : 0%
< 50 : 51 : 1%
< 60 : 46 : 0%
< 70 : 43 : 0%
< 80 : 27 : 0%
< 90 : 35 : 0%
< 100 : 8859 : 93% ##############################################
>=100 : 0 : 0%
max : 99.999968
min : 0.000000
avg : 94.477283

Warning Thresholds : Low High
Control Connection
This graph shows the number of messages queued up to send to the player over the control connection. A measurement is taken every time a new message is sent to the player. Values above 1-2 indicate potential network congestion or that the player has become disconnected.

< 1 : 49111 :100% ##################################################
< 2 : 0 : 0%
< 5 : 0 : 0%
< 10 : 0 : 0%
< 20 : 0 : 0%
>=20 : 0 : 0%
max : 0.000000
min : 0.000000
avg : 0.000000

bpa
2007-11-03, 15:04
What version of SC ?

Another explanation is a problem with the source music files and any transcoding process.
What sort of files are you playing ?
Are they being transcoded ?

Another explanation, in the context of your DHCP problem, is that the router is failing. Users have reported very strange symptoms when routers start to fail.

mik63
2007-11-04, 08:04
I use WAV native, but it happens as well with Wav->FLAC conversion.

mik63
2007-11-04, 08:06
Router is new and has no problems; too many people have the same issue for being an epidemic of "strange router disease"...

;-)

mik63
2007-11-04, 08:07
this happens since at least 6.3-6.4 and al the way to 7.0

mik63
2007-11-04, 08:11
The idea that it can be something in the music file is interesting.
But how is that it happens randomly, and not in a specific file and position?
Also, I am watching the buffer fullness on the SB3 screen and it is 100% full, then suddenly, when the skip occurs, it goes to zero and reloads.
This tells me that it is something with the SB3, that the packets arrive in the right sequence and they are stuffed in the buffer properly..; then something strange happens and makes the buffer "reset"...

For now support has only suggested to connect the SB3 directly and not wireless; it makes no difference...

bpa
2007-11-04, 09:26
Have you disabled WAV-Flac transcoding as I think this is the default or is the stream sent was WAV ? Use the debug option d_source to check if you are not sure.



too many people have the same issue for being an epidemic of "strange router disease"...

I haven't seen many reports where user had bits of a track being skipped ? Can you point to the similar reports of missing blocks in a track.

Most of the report that I have seen recently are in respect to sudden stopping. This can have a number of reasons and so initially each case should be treated separately rather than assuming one common cause.

mik63
2007-11-06, 13:31
I have tried both ways, with native WAV as well as WAV->FLAC transcoding. did not seem to make any difference. My PC is quite robust with plenty of performance all around, so it never gets clogged by the software application demands. CPU with transcoding never exceeds 10% utilization.

bpa
2007-11-06, 15:28
The usual way to approach this sort of problem is
First determine is it wireless related. The usual test is to wire your SB and see if the problem occurs.

If the problem occurs when wired then check for server related issues such as
- Anti virus - some AV lock out access to files. Turn off security and see if problem occurs.
- network or driver related - check net interface stats for errors or retransmissions between PC and SB also try Network test plugin and see what is the highest speed you get 100% for say 20mins.
- using transcoding WAV->Flac turn on d_source and look at log after a skip. If there is buffer underrun or other problem they may show up in the log.

KeithL
2007-11-06, 23:49
Once in a blue moon my sb3 will loose a second or two from the beginning of a track if I jump tracks with the remote. It's so infrequent that I don't worry about it. I use aiff natively connected by cat5.