PDA

View Full Version : Time Accuracy and Configuration?



pablolie
2007-11-03, 06:10
I noticed the SB and my computer have a 2 min difference in their respective perceptions of time. Can this be changed anywhere?

ceejay
2007-11-03, 08:52
Odd, as the SB gets its time from Slimserver. Do you have two computers with different time settings?

Ceejay

htrd
2007-11-03, 10:42
ceejay wrote:

>
> Odd, as the SB gets its time from Slimserver. Do you have two computers
> with different time settings?

Or is the SB connected to squeezenetwork?

pfarrell
2007-11-03, 10:47
pablolie wrote:
> I noticed the SB and my computer have a 2 min difference in their
> respective perceptions of time. Can this be changed anywhere?

You can set your computer to a known accurate time using the NTP server
pool. See

http://www.pool.ntp.org/use.html

How do I use pool.ntp.org?

If you just want to synchronise your computers clock to the network, the
configuration file (for the ntpd program from the ntp.org distribution,
on any supported operating system - Linux, *BSD, Windows and even some
more exotic systems) is really simple:

--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

pablolie
2007-11-03, 19:27
hi pat -

thanks. my computer is set to synch (usual WinXP OS procedure) from nist.gov, i still see an occasional lag between SB and my computer. it's not a big deal - still does a great job as an alarm clock.

pfarrell
2007-11-03, 19:33
pablolie wrote:
> thanks. my computer is set to synch (usual WinXP OS procedure) from
> nist.gov, i still see an occasional lag between SB and my computer.
> it's not a big deal - still does a great job as an alarm clock.

The nist.gov server is very overloaded, which is why the ntp pool exists.

I run a pool.ntp server and the sysadmin at NIST didn't want me to talk
to his servers.

Lags between the SlimServer and your SqueezeBox is another issue.
what size is the lag when you notice it?

--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/