PDA

View Full Version : iTunes and Slimserver

aguess
2007-10-30, 10:41
Do people have a preferred way of these two working in harmony?

personally, I can't stand iTunes so know little about it but as an IT manager I've introduced a fair amount people into the world of slimservers and slimboxes. Later, they have gone ahead and installed iTunes and are now complaining that they can't see songs where they want them to be etc etc.

So is there a preferred way of setting this up or some best practise guide for using iTunes and Slimserver together?

I've bought a NAS for the guy, which runs slimserver and now I've got to think how I'm going to set this up.

My initial thought is map iTunes to a network drive on the NAS and import all the existing mp3's (about 10000) he's using on his slimserver to the network drive and make that iTunes library and the area that slimserver scans. This should mean in the future when he rip's CD's they go directly into the slimserver area and are rescanned - but does iTune's rip to mp3?

Also, he's downloaded loads of stuff from iTunes itself and I know these arn't mp3, so how do people deal with stuff they've downloaded from iTune's if they want it in their slimserver library?

ceejay
2007-10-30, 10:43
Is this any help? http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?BeginnersGuideToiTunes

Ceejay

aguess
2007-10-30, 10:47
Is this any help? http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?BeginnersGuideToiTunes

Ceejay

damn wiki's ... yes, it answers a lot.

so i'm guessing the only legal way to see iTune's downloaded music is to burn a CD and then delete the music from the library and rip it back into the library?

erland
2007-10-30, 11:22
so i'm guessing the only legal way to see iTune's downloaded music is to burn a CD and then delete the music from the library and rip it back into the library?
Yes, but I'm not sure everyone in the music industry consider it a legal way though.

Eric Seaberg
2007-10-30, 11:32
damn wiki's ... yes, it answers a lot.