PDA

View Full Version : Help a newbie out :)

swredman
2007-10-24, 15:25
Guys,

I was wondering if one of you kind gents could lend a hand. I just built a new PC and have been running Linux (Ubuntu 7.10) for a total of one day. To say that I am new to this OS would be an understatement.

I am having problems getting SlimServer to recognize my music files. I have Slimserver installed, and figured out how to start it when I boot the system. I can turn on the Squeezebox, it grabs an IP address, etc. I can play streaming internet radio, so it is all working in that respect.

Right now, my entire collection of music is in .mp3 format, and I am going to re-rip my entire library in FLAC instead (going for great sound quality here).

I started by ripping a single CD using rhythmbox in FLAC format. In the server settings in Slimserver, I am not sure what to put in for the music folder path information. I tried putting in:

/home/scott/Music

and that doesn't seem to work. When I tell slimserver to rescan the library, it comes back with 0 artists, 0 songs.

I'm sure that there must be something really dumb that I'm doing here.

Thanks for any help you can give,

Scott

Mark Lanctot
2007-10-24, 15:39
Sounds like a permissions issue. Fix it using this:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=237360&postcount=7

then

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=237132&postcount=3

So in summary, copy and paste this at the command prompt:

sudo chown -R scott:scott /home/scott/Music

Then:

cd /home/scott/Music

Then:

find . -type d -exec chmod 755 {} \;
find . -type f -exec chmod 644 {} \;