PDA

View Full Version : Mac Leopard Support



flatpackedworld
2007-10-17, 14:09
Hi,

Had a quick search around but couldn't find anything. Is there plans to support the upcoming release of Leopard, 10.5 on Mac or will the current version work already?

Cheers,
Ian

andyg
2007-10-17, 14:43
We will support it, but since none of us has a copy yet we will have to wait and see. :)

flatpackedworld
2007-10-17, 14:53
That's good to know.

Just got to decide if I should get the Mac Mini now! :)

dean
2007-10-18, 10:42
Actually, we do have Leopard in house and the QA team has been testing it. No problems found so far, but the testing continues.

-dean

flatpackedworld
2007-10-19, 04:42
Nice one, good reason to get a mac mini now, kinda! :)

schmollywood
2007-10-27, 07:51
I do actually experience a problem with Leopard running SlimSever 6.5.4. Although in the SlimServer control panel I have selected "Server start: On system startup" (I am sorry if its not the right term in english, but I am trying to translate it from my German software) I have to start slimserver manually almost every time. Anybody else having experiencing the same thing ?

valeite
2007-10-27, 08:17
Yes on boot I also have to start squeezecenter 7 even though automatically start when system boots is selected.

gman
2007-10-27, 10:51
The only problem I've experienced is having to go to the preference pane to start the Slimserver, even though I have it set to start on boot.

bp33
2007-10-27, 17:44
The problem in Leopard is that when starting at boot time, we're hitting a permission problem when creating the slimserver log file directory:

10/27/07 5:17:31 PM com.apple.SystemStarter[69] Starting SlimServer
10/27/07 5:17:31 PM com.apple.SystemStarter[69] /Library/PreferencePanes/SlimServer.prefPane/Contents/server /
10/27/07 5:17:31 PM com.apple.SystemStarter[69] mkdir: /var/root/Library/Logs: Permission denied
10/27/07 5:17:31 PM com.apple.SystemStarter[69] Slim Launcher.app/Contents/Resources/Start Slim Server.sh: line 9: /var/root/Library/Logs/slimserver.log: Permission denied
10/27/07 5:17:31 PM com.apple.SystemStarter[69] /

Since "Start Slim Server.sh" tries to mkdir ~/Library/Logs and "~" resolves to / at boot time, this fails with a permission error.
The script decides that since the log directory can't be created, it'll just quit without starting the server.

However, when you manually start SlimServer after you log in, "~" resolves to your user name, and you have permission to write to ~/Library/Logs, so the server starts.

A hacky workaround is to edit
/Library/PreferencePanes/SlimServer.prefPane/Contents/server/Slim Launcher.app/Contents/Resources/Start Slim Server.sh and change "~" to the absolute path to your home directory.

mherger
2007-10-28, 02:02
> The problem in Leopard is that when starting at boot time, we're hitting
> a permission problem when creating the slimserver log file directory:

Great information! Could you please add them to the following report:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=5781

Thanks!

Michael

mario21
2007-10-28, 10:21
I'm experiencing the same trouble since I use Leopard. I'm not able to connect to slimserver. I tried 6.5.4 and the latest nightly build 6.5.5 and didn't work. Hope this bug will find a solution in a near future because I cannot live without my Squeezebox 3! Sorry for my english, I am a french speaking person.

mherger
2007-10-28, 11:24
> I'm experiencing the same trouble since I use Leopard. I'm not able to
> connect to slimserver.

But can you start SlimServer manually, once you've logged in?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

mario21
2007-10-28, 13:37
Unfortunately, the answer is no. I tried several times.

mario21
2007-10-28, 14:58
I noticed that I need to click twice on Web Access button in the system preferences before that Safari can find the Slimserver page.

muski
2007-10-28, 20:42
The problem in Leopard is that when starting at boot time, we're hitting a permission problem when creating the slimserver log file directory...

I had the same problem. However, I found the simplest workaround is just to change the Slimserver preference pane setting from "When system boots" to "When I log in" (Since it resolves the permissions problem above). I rebooted and it launched automatically. (BTW, I have the first Leopard software update installed -- the "Login & Keychain Update").

I have the Inguz plugin working OK under Leopard, too.

muski

P.S. mario21, you are probably just seeing a small startup delay when you manually start the server. Wait a few seconds after you manually start the server and then hit the Web Acess button -- I wonder if it will go away.

Cintra
2007-10-29, 08:26
Slimserver is working ok for me on Leopard with Squeezebox, but the Softsqueeze gui doesn't even appear when I attempt to start Softsqueeze 3.4 20-50-30

PS I was a bit too fast off the mark ;-)

I re-downloaded softsqueeze.jnlp and bingo! All is well...

flatpackedworld
2007-10-29, 15:35
I've noticed that starting on system boot doesn't work for me with Leopard and 6.5.4. Starts manually fine, going to try on user login to see if that works.

mario21
2007-10-29, 16:03
My squeezebox, with Leopard, is not able to find the Slimserver even If I try to start manually in the preference system. I did everything, no response...

mario21
2007-10-29, 16:19
I tried with version 7 alpha. No response...

muski
2007-10-29, 21:02
mario21 --

I wonder if it is the Leopard fireall. How do you have your Leopard firewall set up?

See part 3 of my post in another Leopard thread:
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=39749&page=2

muski

mherger
2007-10-30, 00:09
> I've noticed that starting on system boot doesn't work for me with
> Leopard and 6.5.4. Starts manually fine, going to try on user login to
> see if that works.

That's bug 5781 - http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=5781

If you have any additional information, please add it to that report. I'm
working on it today.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

mario21
2007-10-30, 04:32
Muski,

Thank you for your help. I tried what you've suggested. Unfortunately, it didn't work. Last night, I installed Slimserver 6.5.4. on my Windows XP with Parallels desktop. Works perfectly fine.

mherger
2007-10-30, 04:36
I've just uploaded new builds for SS6.5.5 and SC7 which should work fine on Leopard. Please give them a try and report back:

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/7.0/
http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/6.5/

Please note: there won't be another official 6.5.x release. If you want to run it on OS X 10.5 you'll have to use the latest nightly. This is no problem as it only has very few changes compared to 6.5.4, all of them fixes only.

mario21
2007-10-30, 06:01
Unfortunately, nothing happenned. The problem still exist. The Squeezebox is not able to connect to slimserver. I tried both nightly build 6.5.5 and 7.0 as you suggested. I did a clean install each time for both. I followed these instructions by Logitech:

First, go to System Prefs, click on Slimserver and click the "Stop Server" button. Close the System Prefs.

* Remove any of the following:

- home -> Library -> SlimDevices folder
- home -> Library -> PreferencePanes -> SlimServer.prefPane
- home -> Library -> Caches -> SlimServer folder
- home -> Library -> Preferences -> com.slim*

- hard disk -> Library -> SlimDevices folder (may or may not exist)
- hard disk -> Library -> PreferencePanes -> SlimServer.prefPane (may or may not exist)

* Reboot your computer

* Reinstall Slimserver

As I said earlier on this thread, I installed Slimserver 6.5.4 on Windows XP with Parallels desktop and it works perfectly fine! (same computer, same squeezebox)

mherger
2007-10-30, 06:23
> Unfortunately, nothing happenned. The problem still exist.

Does it work if you open the preference pane, change form "at boot" to "never" and then back to "at boot" again?

> - home -> Library -> PreferencePanes -> SlimServer.prefPane

Can you run "find /Library/PreferencePanes -name start-*"? You should get one or more filenames. What does it find?

> As I said earlier on this thread, I installed Slimserver 6.5.4 on
> Windows XP with Parallels desktop and it works perfectly fine!

As this is a Leopard only issue there's absolute no relation to Windows, be it installed on the same system or not.

Michael

mario21
2007-10-30, 07:11
Does it work if you open the preference pane, change form "at boot" to "never" and then back to "at boot" again?

The answer is no. I tried several times.

Can you run "find /Library/PreferencePanes -name start-*"? You should get one or more filenames. What does it find?

I don't know what you means exactly but in the Library/PreferencePanes I found only one file named "SlimServer.prefPane". I doubled click on it but nothig special happened. Hope I'm helping you by my answers to your questions. Thank you!

mherger
2007-10-30, 07:21
> Can you run "find /Library/PreferencePanes -name start-*"? You should
> get one or more filenames. What does it find?

Please open a terminal and run the above command in there.

Michael

mario21
2007-10-30, 07:33
it says: No such file or directory.

mherger
2007-10-30, 07:44
> it says: No such file or directory.

Do you see /Library/StartupItems/SqueezeCenter/SqueezeCenter?

What does "ls /Library/PreferencePanes/SqueezeCenter.prefPane/Contents/Resources" say?

Please note that these instructions are for SC7, not SS6.

Michael

mario21
2007-10-30, 08:16
Do you see /Library/StartupItems/SqueezeCenter/SqueezeCenter?
Answer: no such file (StartupItems) in my library

What does is /Library/PreferencePanes/SqueezeCenter.prefPane/Contents/Resources" say?

Answer: No such file

mherger
2007-10-30, 09:29
> Do you see /Library/StartupItems/SqueezeCenter/SqueezeCenter?
> Answer: no such file (StartupItems) in my library

It's not in _your_ user's Library, but in the root of your filesystem (the system wide library). Open your main volume to see it.

Michael

mario21
2007-10-30, 10:09
Sorry for the mistake. I found Startupitems but nothing inside this file.

jarome
2007-10-30, 16:21
By default, Leopard turns off the firewall and allows any incoming connections! If you turn it on, SlimServer will not work.

But I cannot find any way in their GUI either under Sharing or under Security to open a port, or to specify UDP or TCP!

I think we will have to configure ipfw manually.

Am I blind, or is this a killer issue?

Jim Rome

dnewman
2007-10-30, 20:06
By default, Leopard turns off the firewall and allows any incoming connections! If you turn it on, SlimServer will not work.

But I cannot find any way in their GUI either under Sharing or under Security to open a port, or to specify UDP or TCP!

I think we will have to configure ipfw manually.

Am I blind, or is this a killer issue?

Jim Rome

You're not blind: this is one which reviewers of Leopard started
commenting on a while back. You need to drive ipfw directly.
WaterRoof is a nice, free GUI you can use. Have it install the
ipfw startup script, then setup some rules, and save those
rules.

Dan

muski
2007-10-31, 09:54
But I cannot find any way in their GUI either under Sharing or under Security to open a port, or to specify UDP or TCP!

However, if you turn off slimserver, set the firewall "Set access for specific services and applications", and then turn slimserver back on, you will get a popup asking if you would like mysqld & perl to accept incoming connections. Say allow and slimserver will work fine.

Still, there are quite a few critical reviews of Leopard's firewall (esp. the default off setting). Many of the articles recommend manually configuring ipfw.

muski

mario21
2007-10-31, 10:10
Muski,

I've tried what you suggested but unfortunately it didn't work for me.

muski
2007-10-31, 10:16
If you turn the firewall off completely, does that make any difference?

BTW, do you remember if you installed for all users?

Can you manually start the slimserver? Does the Web interface come up successfully?

Also, if you open the Console (Applications->Utilities) do you see a log file for slimserver? (Probably under ~/Library/Logs)? Anything interesting in there?

muski
2007-10-31, 10:23
Mario21 --

Some other things to try:

Also, what is the IP address of slimserver? (look at the bottom of the page of the main server settings page). When you step through the setup of the SB3 what IP address do you see?

Can you see the web interface from another computer (if you have one)?

Do you have anything set in the server settings->security page?

muski

mario21
2007-10-31, 17:31
If you turn the firewall off completely, does that make any difference?
Answer:NO

BTW, do you remember if you installed for all users?
Answer:Yes

Can you manually start the slimserver? Does the Web interface come up successfully?
Answer:Yes

Also, if you open the Console (Applications->Utilities) do you see a log file for slimserver? (Probably under ~/Library/Logs)? Anything interesting in there?

This is an example of what I found:

07-10-31 17:38:44 [0x0-0xcf0cf].com.slimdevices.slim Compilation failed in require at ./slimserver.pl line 144.
07-10-31 17:38:44 [0x0-0xcf0cf].com.slimdevices.slim BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at ./slimserver.pl line 144.

Also, what is the IP address of slimserver? (look at the bottom of the page of the main server settings page). When you step through the setup of the SB3 what IP address do you see? Answer: same IP address

Can you see the web interface from another computer (if you have one)?
Work well with windows XP with Parallels desktop (same computer iMAC Intel)

Do you have anything set in the server settings->security page?
Answer: No

The Slimserver on Mac Os 10.5(Leopard) is not able to recognize my Squeezebox and my Squeezbox is not able to find the Slimserver. I repeat, everything works fine when I'm using Windows XP on my Mac. Big mystery.

mario21
2007-10-31, 17:36
Muski,

Thank you for taking the time to take care of my case!

muski
2007-10-31, 17:43
You're very welcome (and thanks for your patience for doing this in delayed half-duplex). Let's hope we can figure it out!

The compilation failure error is a major one.

Line 144 of slimserver.pl is "use Slim::Music::PlaylistFolderScan;"

Long shot: have a look at Server Settings / Basic Settings and see if there is a valid folder for your playlists (make sure that it is somewhere in your user folder system, as we don't want to run into any folder permissions problems).

BTW, if you then select "clear library and rescan everything" does it work properly? Do the correct number of albums/songs/artists show up?

I'll keep thinking in the meantime..

mario21
2007-10-31, 19:12
Long shot: have a look at Server Settings / Basic Settings and see if there is a valid folder for your playlists (make sure that it is somewhere in your user folder system, as we don't want to run into any folder permissions problems). Answer: I have a valid folder in user/music/playlists. The playlist in my folder and the playlist who appeared on the Slimserver are the same.

BTW, if you then select "clear library and rescan everything" does it work properly?
Answer:Yes

Do the correct number of albums/songs/artists show up? Answer:Yes

BTW, for your information, I'm using the latest nightly build 6.5.5

mario21
2007-11-01, 09:58
I just reset the Squeezebox and evrything is now working! Big problem, simple solution. Thank you to everyone who answered me in the last days!!!!!