PDA

View Full Version : Poor Wireless Causes Most Bugs?

sdonham
2007-10-15, 12:09
I've had my jive remote for maybe 5 hours now and I've already hand written a list of bugs and quirks for me to look into. Being a software engineer, I know how annoying it is to get a bug report that just says "Feature 'x' doesn't work" so I'm holding off on submitting bugs until I find a possible cause for them and a detailed explanation as to how to reproduce them.

Here's my question: Could many bugs be caused by a poor wireless signal? For instance, currently, while standing next to my router, the volume up/down buttons work perfectly. Step a few feet away and pressing volume up causes the volume to go 100%. If I return to the wireless router, volume buttons return to normal behavior. I've tested a dozen times by now.

I'm installing ethereal now to check out the volume signals sent or received, but I've noticed this behavior with a number of functions (i.e. poor reception causes the middle "select" button to appear as if it were pressed multiple times).

Any thoughts?

Skunk
2007-10-15, 14:02
Does your router work well in other wireless applications?

I'm getting a full signal on the second floor (with the bathroom door closed if that's not TMI) and the router in the basement. It also works from the hammock outside.

My volume control seems better behaved than a couple weeks ago, but I also discovered the 'press up or down once and adjust with the scroll wheel' trick, which seems less prone to sudden 100% syndrome.

SuperQ
2007-10-15, 14:06
I've had my jive remote for maybe 5 hours now and I've already hand written a list of bugs and quirks for me to look into. Being a software engineer, I know how annoying it is to get a bug report that just says "Feature 'x' doesn't work" so I'm holding off on submitting bugs until I find a possible cause for them and a detailed explanation as to how to reproduce them.