PDA

View Full Version : Buffer fullness



bernt
2007-10-15, 10:03
Hi!

Sometimes the playback is "choppy" for about 3-4 songs.
This is how the Performance monitor look at the time it happens.

Signal strenght
< 10 : 0 : 0%
< 20 : 0 : 0%
< 30 : 0 : 0%
< 40 : 0 : 0%
< 50 : 0 : 0%
< 60 : 16 : 4% #
< 70 : 85 : 20% #########
< 80 : 305 : 71% ###################################
< 90 : 24 : 6% ##
< 100 : 0 : 0%
>=100 : 0 : 0%
max : 83.000000
min : 53.000000
avg : 72.151163

Buffer Fullnes
< 10 : 173 : 41% ####################
< 20 : 5 : 1%
< 30 : 3 : 1%
< 40 : 2 : 0%
< 50 : 2 : 0%
< 60 : 5 : 1%
< 70 : 24 : 6% ##
< 80 : 41 : 10% ####
< 90 : 35 : 8% ####
< 100 : 133 : 31% ###############
>=100 : 0 : 0%
max : 99.999619
min : 0.000000
avg : 50.167465

Control Connection
< 1 : 148 : 99% #################################################
< 2 : 1 : 1%
< 5 : 0 : 0%
< 10 : 0 : 0%
< 20 : 0 : 0%
>=20 : 0 : 0%
max : 1.000000
min : -1.000000
avg : -0.046980

The log shows nothing.

I mostly stream flac.

VERSION INFO
SlimServer-version: 6.5.4 - 12568 - freebsd - SV - iso-8859-1
Server IP address: 192.168.0.21
Perl-version: 5.8.8 i386-freebsd-64int
MySQL-version: 5.0.33

Wireless SB3

Had this problem on Windows XP to.

radish
2007-10-15, 13:57
My guess is that your wireless link is experiencing interference which is limiting the bandwidth available (FLAC requires a lot more capacity to stream than something like mp3). To prove (or disprove) this theory try hooking the SB up with a cable rather than wireless for a while and see if you still have the problem. If not, then it's the wireless.

In terms of fixing it, there are a few things to try. Can you reposition the base station/router to be closer to the SB? Can you switch the channel it is operating on to one with less interference? You could also try replacing the antenna with something directional.

dennis55
2007-10-15, 15:58
Berndt,you could try another changing your network channel as the band can get a bit busy with all these wireless networks around.you can use a network sniffer to find a clear spot.
i notice when my microwave oven is on the signal stutters a bit, but my normal sig strength is around 85% downstairs.
your options include a wireless repeater or using ethernet cable direct to the SB3.

dennis

bernt
2007-10-15, 23:01
If it is the wireless network should'nt the Signal strenght drop more than it does?

I did'nt had this problem from the beginning. It has increased over time.

The only thing that have changed is that a few more of my neighbours had set up wireless network.

Maybe it's a channel thing after all?

radish
2007-10-16, 06:31
The signal strength is a pretty crude measurement, there's plenty of scope for interference even if the strength is being reported as high.

bernt
2007-10-16, 23:16
Did a WiFi scan and the ap I found use channel 6. My ap use channel 11.

The strange thing is that it could work for hours and suddenly 3-4 songs are "choppy" and then everything works again.

No one is using wireless phones, bluetooth or the microwave at the time it happens.

I think it all started after I tried mp3tunes with my SB3. I had to upgrade the SB3 to make mp3tunes work.

The SB3 are reseted and upgraded after I tried mp3tunes.

oreillymj
2007-10-17, 00:41
There is a known issue with flac files compressed at more than -5 from what I remember.

The actual CPU in the SB3 struggles to decode the flac fast enough to keep the playback buffer full.

It looks and seems like a network issue that's cuasing a buffer underrun, but you'll notice that the display slows to a crawl.

Mark Lanctot
2007-10-17, 14:29
There is a known issue with flac files compressed at more than -5 from what I remember.

The actual CPU in the SB3 struggles to decode the flac fast enough to keep the playback buffer full.

It looks and seems like a network issue that's cuasing a buffer underrun, but you'll notice that the display slows to a crawl.

Hmm? All my FLACs are compressed at -8, never a problem.

oreillymj
2007-10-17, 15:08
Strange, I've seen this behaviour myself (although it was with surround track, so there was a lot of data to decompress) but I'm pretty sure this has been mentioned a number of times in other threads.

Maybe I'm getting confused with the issue of files encoded with an old ogg library.

Mark Lanctot
2007-10-17, 15:27
I have heard this in relation to the "Flake" FLAC 3rd-party encoder at -9 or -10 compression.

I've experienced this myself with 24/96 FLACs with ReplayGain and the spectrum analyzer screensaver on the Transporter (bug 4463) but not 16/44.1 FLAC at -8.

slimkid
2007-10-17, 15:33
Hi,

any chance you have a periodic rescan of music library set up? Or some other task that hogs your music server from time to time?

K

mik63
2007-11-03, 07:00
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=39402